Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 2200 GMT/0600 SGT


Reuters
Updated: 14-03-2019 03:30 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 2200 GMT/0600 SGT

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar. TOP STORIES

GLOBAL BRITAIN-EU

British lawmakers defy May to reject no-deal Brexit, to vote on three-month delay British lawmakers on Wednesday rejected leaving the European Union without a deal in any scenario, paving the way for a vote to seek to delay Brexit until at least the end of June.

NIGERIA-SCHOOL One person killed, dozens of children feared trapped in collapsed Lagos building

At least one person was killed and dozens of children were among those feared trapped after a four-storey building containing a primary school collapsed in Nigeria’s commercial capital Lagos on Wednesday. U.S.

USA-TRUMP-RUSSIA-INDICTMENT Ex-Trump aide Manafort charged with mortgage fraud in New York

Paul Manafort has been charged in New York with residential mortgage fraud and other felonies, as state lawmakers move to ensure that U.S. President Donald Trump’s former campaign chairman can be prosecuted even if he receives a presidential pardon. USA-CALIFORNIA-DEATH-PENALTY

California governor halts death penalty: 'I couldn't sleep' California Governor Gavin Newsom on Wednesday imposed a moratorium on the death penalty as the possibility of the first executions in the state in 13 years loomed, causing him a crisis of conscience.

BUSINESS ETHIOPIA-AIRPLANE

U.S. joins other nations in grounding 737 MAX jets after second crash The United States on Wednesday joined Europe, China and other countries in grounding Boeing Co’s 737 MAX jets, because of safety concerns after an Ethiopian Airlines plane crash that killed 157 people, the second disaster involving the 737 in less than five months.

FIAT-CHRYSLER-EMISSIONS-EXCLUSIVE Fiat Chrysler recalling 965,000 US, Canadian vehicles over excess emissions

Fiat Chrysler Automobiles NV will recall about 965,000 gasoline-powered vehicles in the United States and Canada that do not meet emissions standards and will replace their catalytic converters, officials said on Wednesday. ENTERTAINMENT

USA-EDUCATION/CHEATING Lori Loughlin latest to surrender after $25 mln U.S. college cheat scheme exposed

Douglas Hodge, the former chief executive of the investment firm Pimco, appeared in federal court in Boston on Wednesday accused of taking part in a sprawling scheme in which wealthy parents paid for their children to cheat their way into elite U.S. colleges. INDITEX-RESULTS/CUSTOMISATION

Zara to open denim customisation pop-ups in three stores Zara will launch a service to embroider names onto denim clothing in Europe this month, latching onto a customisation trend which has seen shoppers able to create their own Levi's jeans or design their Nike sneakers instore.

SPORTS SOCCER-FIFA/

FIFA backs away from vote on Nations League, wants Club World Cup 'pilot' FIFA has backed away from a vote on a planned new 'Worldwide Nations League' tournament after the governing body's task force reported that it was unable to find consensus on a format for the potential money-spinner.

MASSACHUSETTS-CRIME/AARON HERNANDEZ Ex-NFL star Aaron Hernandez's murder conviction reinstated

Massachusetts' top court on Wednesday reinstated former New England Patriots player Aaron Hernandez's conviction on charges of murdering an acquaintance in 2013, making it easier for the victim's family to sue his estate. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS USA-EDUCATION/CHEATING-PARENTS

U.S. college bribery scandal grates on those who missed the cut The U.S. college bribery scandal unleashed fury and angst among admissions experts and those who feel slighted by the privileges already granted to wealthy Americans even before federal prosecutors charged 50 people and arrested dozens in the largest college-admissions cheating scandal revealed in U.S. history.

13 Mar 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT THAILAND-ELECTION/MILITARY (PIX)

Martial democracy? Some Thais prefer to keep coup-maker for PM When Thai voters go to polls on March 24 in the first elections since a military coup, there will be at least three parties on the ballot openly campaigning to keep the military in power through democracy. At a recent rally of the pro-army Palang Pracharat party, a speaker laid out the case for electing junta leader Prayuth Chan-ocha, who seized power from an elected government when he was army chief in 2014. The Palang Pracharat party says keeping Prayuth is preferable to allowing the return of the populist Pheu Thai party, which they say ran a "parliamentary dictatorship" that went against traditional Thai values of loyalty and harmony.

14 Mar BOTSWANA-LGBT/

Botswana court to hear case against criminalising gay sex The Botswana High Court will hear a case challenging a law that criminalises gay sex. Same-sex relationships are illegal in more than 70 countries, almost half of them in Africa, where homosexuality is broadly taboo and persecution is rife.

14 Mar UN-ENVIRONMENT/MACRON (PIX) (TV)

France's Macron to open One Planet Summit Macron and Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta open the One Plant Summit, dedicated to addressing climate change.

14 Mar NIRELAND-BLOODYSUNDAY/ (TV)

N.Ireland prosecutors to decide on "Bloody Sunday" charges Northern Ireland's Public Prosecution Service will announce whether or not any former British soldiers will be charged with the "Bloody Sunday" killings of 13 Roman Catholic civil rights marchers over 40 years ago.

14 Mar 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT BRITAIN-EU/ (TV)

Vote in UK parliament on extending Brexit negotiating period British lawmakers vote on whether to seek an extension to the Brexit negotiation period, delaying the country's departure from the European Union beyond March 29.

14 Mar 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT AUSTRIA-RUSSIA/

Russia's Lavrov meets Austrian president Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov meets Austrian President Alexander Van der Bellen.

14 Mar 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT USA-TRUMP/RUSSIA-CONGRESS (TV)

U.S. House to vote on resolution making Mueller report public The Democratic-ruled U.S. House of Representatives is expected to vote on a resolution calling for Special Counsel Robert Mueller's impending report on Russian election meddling and possible collusion by President Donald Trump's campaign to be made available to the public and Congress.

14 Mar AUSTRIA-BOLIVIA/

Bolivian President Morales holds news conference Bolivian President Evo Morales holds a news conference on his visit to Austria.

14 Mar 11:30 ET / 15:30 GMT INDIA-PAKISTAN/ (PIX) (TV)

Pakistan delegation visits to discuss Sikh pilgrimage corridor A Pakistani delegation visits New Delhi to discuss a draft agreement on a Sikh pilgrimage corridor in Punjab and then will host a reciprocal Indian visit in Islamabad in the latest sign of ease of tension between the two rivals.

14 Mar KENYA-FRANCE/ (TV)

France's Macron debates with Kenyan students Macron meets and debates with Kenya's university students.

14 Mar 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT USA-CONGRESS/ROSS (PIX) (TV)

Commerce Secretary Ross testifies to U.S. House committee U.S. Commerce Secretary Wilbur Ross testifies to House Oversight Committee, one of the first confrontations between now Democratic-controlled panel and a Trump Cabinet member.

14 Mar 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT USA-TRUMP/RUSSIA-STONE (PIX)

Ex-Trump adviser Stone faces federal court status conference Status conference on federal case against long-time Trump adviser Roger Stone is scheduled before Judge Amy Berman Jackson in U.S. District Court in Washington.

14 Mar 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT DISASTERS / ACCIDENTS

ETHIOPIA-AIRPLANE/ (PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC) Bereaved families visit site of Ethiopian Airways crash

Bereaved families and friends will visit the site of the Ethiopian Airlines crash to say goodbye to their loved ones. 14 Mar 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE PEOPLE-JUSSIE SMOLLETT/ (PIX) (TV)

Actor Jussie Smollett faces hearing for Chicago 'hate crime' hoax charges Actor Jussie Smollett faces a court hearing on Thursday on charges that he paid two brothers thousands of dollars to beat him in a staged racist and homophobic attack because he was unhappy with his salary on the hip-hop TV drama "Empire."

14 Mar 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT NORTHKOREA-MALAYSIA/KIM-COURT (PIX) (TV)

Malaysian court to rule on whether Vietnamese accused of N.Korean airport murder will be freed A Malaysian court will hear an application to release Doan Thi Huong, a Vietnamese woman, accused of poisoning Kim Jong Nam, the half-brother of North Korean leader Kim Jong Un, at Kuala Lumpur airport in 2017. Her co-accused, Indonesian Siti Aisyah, was freed on Monday after prosecutors withdrew the murder charge against her.

14 Mar 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT PENNSYLANIA-CRIME/

Jury to decide on death penalty for man who murdered girlfriend's adopted daughter In Bucks County, Pennsylvania, a jury will begin hearing evidence in the sentencing of Jacob Sullivan, who pleaded guilty to drugging, raping and murdering his adopted daughter, Grace Packer, then dismembering her body and dumping it in a forest upstate. Sullivan's wife, Sara Packer negotiated a life sentence, but Sullivan could get the death penalty.

14 Mar BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

CERAWEEK-ENERGY/ Top energy executives, oil ministers debate the future of fossil fuels

Global energy ministers and executives from the world's largest oil producers meet in Houston March 11-15 to discuss factors affecting oil and gas, electricity and power markets. 14 Mar

POLAND-ROBOTS/ (TV) Poland's first robot employment agency opens for business

Employers struggling with labour shortages in central Europe's largest economy will now have the option of employing a robot instead of a human, according to the creators of Poland's first Robot Employment Agency. 14 Mar

COLOMBIA-RENEWABLES/ (PIX) FEATURE-Sunny renewable energy outlook in Colombia faces headwinds

Colombia's high-radiation sunlight, three Andean ranges and long stretches of coastline offer dream conditions for producers of solar and wind energy. The government wants solar and wind to provide nine percent of energy needs by mid-2022, but projects are facing infrastructure and community relations hurdles, as well as the failure of a recent contract auction. 14 Mar

SWATCH CH-RESULTS/ (PIX) Swatch Group holds press conference on annual results (figures out)

Swatch Group to hold press conference to comment on disappointing full-year results posted in February 14 Mar 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

USA-TRUMP/BUDGET (PIX) (TV) U.S. House panel hears from Mnuchin about Trump's budget plan

U.S. Treasury Secretary of the Steven Mnuchin testifies at U.S. House Ways and Means Committee hearing on President Donald Trump's proposed budget. 14 Mar 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

USA-TRADE/EU European Parliament to vote on whether EU should start trade talks with Trump

European Parliament to vote on whether the European Union should start trade talks with Trump, a vote that is non-binding but politically significant for EU countries deciding on the issue (debate on Wednesday afternoon) 14 Mar 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

GE-OUTLOOK/ General Electric provides financial outlook for 2019

General Electric Chief Executive Officer Larry Culp and other top executives are due to spell out the company's financial outlook, which was delayed after GE changed CEO's last fall and reported nearly $23 billion in losses last year. 14 Mar 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

USA-TRADE/CHINA-SOYBEANS (PIX) Why U.S. growers are betting the farm on soybeans amid China trade war

U.S. farmers are gearing up to plant what could be their third-largest soybean crop ever even as the trade war with top buyer China has left mountains of last year’s harvest in storage and Chinese demand wavers with swine fever decimating its hog herds. Farmers say they are stuck on soy due to lack of other options. 14 Mar 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

RELIGION POLAND-CHURCH/ABUSE

Polish episcopate to present data on sexual abuse of minors The Episcopate holds news conference after its gathering following conference in Vatican on the problem of minors' abuse.

14 Mar 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT


POST A COMMENT