Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 AM GMT/2 AM ET


Reuters
Updated: 15-03-2019 11:19 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 AM GMT/2 AM ET

A gunman opened fire on Friday prayers at a mosque in New Zealand killing many worshippers and forcing the city of Christchurch into lockdown as police launched a massive manhunt.

ETHIOPIA-AIRPLANE/ French investigators set to examine black box data from Ethiopia crash

WASHINGTON/PARIS/ADDIS ABABA (Reuters) - French investigators on Friday will begin analyzing data from the black boxes of the Boeing 737 Max plane that crashed after takeoff from Addis Ababa killing 157 people, the second such calamity involving the aircraft since October. U.S.

USA-EDUCATION-CHEATING/ Celebrities lose work, students sue U.S. colleges in admissions scandal

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Hollywood actress Lori Loughlin was dropped by a TV network and her daughter lost a sponsorship deal on Thursday, while students sued prestigious universities in growing fallout from a massive college bribery scandal. USA-SANDY-HOOK-REMINGTON/

Families can sue gun maker for Sandy Hook school massacre: court Families of schoolchildren gunned down in the 2012 Sandy Hook massacre can sue Remington Outdoor Co Inc, a Connecticut court ruled on Thursday, in a setback for gun makers long shielded from liability in mass shootings.

BUSINESS TESLA-MODEL-Y/

Tesla unveils Model Y as electric vehicle race heats up, price starts at $39,000 SAN FRANCISCO (Reuters) - Tesla Inc unveiled its Model Y electric sports utility vehicle on Thursday evening in California, promising a much-awaited crossover that will face competition from European car makers rolling out their own electric rivals.

VOLKSWAGEN-EMISSIONS-SEC/ SEC sues Volkswagen, Winterkorn over 'Dieselgate'

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission sued Volkswagen AG and its former chief executive Martin Winterkorn over the German automaker’s diesel emissions scandal late Thursday, accusing the company of perpetrating a “massive fraud” on U.S. investors. ENTERTAINMENT

USA-ELECTION-BOOKER-ACTRESS/ A little love on the campaign trail - Rosario Dawson dating Cory Booker

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Actress Rosario Dawson, whose film credits include “Rent” and “Men in Black II,” has confirmed reports she is dating U.S. Senator and presidential candidate Cory Booker, calling him “a wonderful human being” who she loves and admires. MUSIC-THEWHO/

Who's next? Daltrey and Townshend set for 'full throttle' tour, album LONDON (Reuters) - “I hope I die before I get old,” The Who sang in their 1965 hit “My Generation”.

SPORTS NEWZEALAND-SHOOTOUT-CRICKET/

Bangladesh team narrowly avoid mosque shooting, test called off WELLINGTON (Reuters) - The Bangladesh cricket team narrowly avoided being caught up in a shooting at a mosque in Christchurch on Friday that left several people dead and forced the cancellation of a test match against hosts New Zealand.

TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/ Kerber, Bencic power into Indian Wells semis

A slew of errors came at the worst possible time for Venus Williams on Thursday as she blew a first set tiebreak before losing 7-6(3) 6-3 to Angelique Kerber in the BNP Paribas Open quarter-finals in Indian Wells. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS HUNGARY-ORBAN/ (PIX) (TV)

Hungarian PM Viktor Orban speaks on Hungary's national day Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban speaks at an outdoor event on Hungary's national day marking the anniversary of the country's 1848 revolution. Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki also expected to talk.

15 Mar 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT TURKEY-ELECTION/

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan holds local election rally Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan holds a local election rally in the southeastern city of Gaziantep.

15 Mar 06:30 ET / 10:30 GMT BRITAIN-EU/TUSK-RUTTE (PIX)

European Council President Tusk meets Dutch Prime Minister Rutte European Council President Donald Tusk meets Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte for talks ahead of next week's EU summit, when leaders will discuss Britain's plans to leave the trading bloc.

15 Mar 04:30 ET / 08:30 GMT USA-IMMIGRATION/WALL (PIX) (TV)

'Why here?' ask some in New Mexico after Trump wall built in desert The longest section of border fence built to date under President Donald Trump is in a relatively remote area of New Mexico not known as the kind of drug and migrant hotspot the president has vowed to block with his wall.

15 Mar 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT CLIMATE-CHANGE/YOUTH-USA (PIX) (TV)

Teen students skip school nationwide to protest inaction on climate change Teenage students around the United States are expected to skip school and attend rallies to call for urgent action to slow the pace of climate change. The Youth Climate Strike is a movement started by 16-year-old Swedish activist Greta Thurnberg.

15 Mar 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT ARGENTINA-ELECTION/PERONISM (PIX) (TV)

Argentina's Fernandez, a divisive figure, hunts allies for election comeback Argentina's former president, Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner, is trying to win over rivals as she plots a political comeback to take on incumbent Mauricio Macri and his IMF-backed economic reforms in elections later this year.

15 Mar 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT CLIMATE-CHANGE/YOUTH-USA NYC (PIX) (TV)

New York students skip school, calling for climate change action A group of New York teenage students join contemporaries from around the United States, skipping school to attend rallies to call for urgent action to slow the pace of climate change. The Youth Climate Strike is a movement started by 16-year-old Swedish activist Greta Thurnberg.

15 Mar 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

GERMANY-ARMS/ German foreign minister hosts conference on arms control

German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas opens a daylong conference looking at the impact of new technologies on international conflicts and arms control initiatives. Top officials from Sweden, the Netherlands and the United Nations will also speak. 15 Mar 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE USA-EDUCATION/CHEATING (PIX)

David Sidoo to be in court for college admission bribe case David Sidoo, a three-time All Canadian football player, is expected to appear in federal court in Boston after being charged with participating in a scheme with other wealthy Americans commit fraud to get their children into elite universities, such as Yale and Stanford.

15 Mar 14:30 ET / 18:30 GMT BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

USA-COMPANIES/FUNDS (TV) ANALYSIS-Mutual funds start to put their mouth where their money is

Corporate America's biggest shareholders have traditionally been content with sharing their views on a company's strategy privately with management. But now some mutual funds are beginning to rethink their stance, amid pressure from investors for them to justify the fees they charge and a push to boost the performance of their holdings. 15 Mar 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

USA-DRILLING/REVENUES (PIX) INSIGHT-Post-Katrina promise of offshore oil money leaves Gulf states shortchanged

In 2006, a year after Hurricanes Katrina and Rita devastated swathes of the U.S. Gulf Coast, the federal government reached a deal that would give states in the region a growing share of offshore drilling revenues to fund projects protecting them from future monster storms. But the money coming in has fallen short of projections by about half, leaving Louisiana and its neighbors with a funding gap for projects like raising levees, building floodgates, fixing coastal erosion, and widening hurricane evacuation routes. 15 Mar 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT EGYPT-ENTERTAINMENT/ (PIX) (TV)

Red Hot Chili Peppers play at the pyramids Funk-rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers play live at Egypt's Giza pyramids as part of a world tour.

15 Mar 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT SPORTS

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/DRAW (PIX) (TV) Soccer - Champions League - Quarter-Finals and Semi-Finals Draw

Four English Premier League teams go into the hat alongside Juventus, Porto, Barcelona and Ajax Amsterdam as UEFA holds the draws for the Champions League quarter-finals and semi-finals at its headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland. 15 Mar 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

SOCCER-EUROPA/DRAW (PIX) (TV) Soccer - Europa League - Quarter-Finals and Semi-Finals Draw

UEFA holds the draw for the Europa League quarter-finals and semi-finals at its headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland. 15 Mar 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT


POST A COMMENT