Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
VisionRI - Urban Development

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 1000 GMT/0600 ET


Reuters
Updated: 17-05-2019 15:35 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 1000 GMT/0600 ET

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 10 a.m. GMT/6 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar. TOP STORIES

GLOBAL BRITAIN-EU/

Brexit disarray returns: talks about to fail as May's premiership fades LONDON - Britain’s tumultuous divorce from the European Union was again in disarray on Friday as last-ditch cross-party talks teetered on the brink of failure in the twilight of Prime Minister Theresa May’s premiership.

TAIWAN-LGBT/ In first for Asia, Taiwan lawmakers back same-sex marriage

TAIPEI - Taiwan became the first place in Asia to legalize same-sex marriage on Friday, as thousands of demonstrators outside parliament cheered and waved rainbow flags, despite deep divisions over marriage equality. U.S.

USA-IMMIGRATION-TRUMP/ In nod to 2020, Trump pitches U.S. immigration overhaul

WASHINGTON - President Donald Trump on Thursday proposed overhauling the U.S. immigration system to favor young, educated, English-speaking applicants instead of people with family ties to Americans, a plan he will push in his 2020 re-election campaign but has little to no chance of being approved in Congress. CALIFORNIA-CRASH-JET/

F-16 pilot ejects before jet crashes into California building LOS ANGELES - An F-16 fighter jet being flown in routine training exercises crashed into a warehouse just outside March Air Reserve Base in Southern California on Thursday, the pilot ejected and five people on the ground were reported injured, military officials said.

BUSINESS USA-TRADE-CHINA-MEDIA/

China evokes patriotism, past wars as trade conflict with U.S. heats up BEIJING - The trade war with the United States will only make China stronger and will never bring the country to its knees, the ruling Communist Party’s People’s Daily wrote in a front-page commentary that evoked the patriotic spirit of past wars.

USA-HUAWEI-TECH-COMMERCE/ China's Huawei restricted from using U.S. suppliers

WASHINGTON/NEW YORK - The Trump administration on Thursday officially added China’s Huawei Technologies Co Ltd to a trade blacklist, immediately enacting restrictions that will make it extremely difficult for the telecom giant to do business with U.S. companies. ENTERTAINMENT

TELEVISION-GAME-OF-THRONES/ Dismayed or grieving, 'Game of Thrones' fans prepare for the final episode

LOS ANGELES - Passions are running high as “Game of Thrones” nears its final episode this weekend, with hundreds of thousands of unhappy fans signing an online petition and a counseling service offering to help those grieving the end of the TV fantasy saga. FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES-ROCKETMAN/

Elton John touches down in Cannes for sparkling 'Rocketman' premiere CANNES, France - Sporting a sequinned “EJ” rocket on his lapel, Elton John beamed his way down the Cannes red carpet on Thursday to see the premiere of his own biopic - “Rocketman”.

SPORTS RUGBY-UNION-AUSTRALIA/FOLAU

Folau sacked by Rugby Australia over social media post SYDNEY - Five weeks after they first committed to sacking Israel Folau, Rugby Australia finally terminated the Wallabies fullback's contract on Friday on the recommendation of a disciplinary panel that decided he had breached their rules on inclusion.

GOLF-PGACHAMP-KOEPKA/ Koepka makes flying start with 63 to lead PGA Championship

FARMINGDALE, N.Y. - Defending champion Brooks Koepka made a flying start at the PGA Championship with a dominant display that appeared set to give him a big lead until inspired New Zealander Danny Lee made a late charge in the first round on Thursday. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS TURKEY-ELECTION/

Turkey's Erdogan makes speech at Ramadan dinner amid Istanbul election preparations Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan makes a speech at a Ramadan fast breaking dinner for district administrators in Istanbul as preparations continue for the June 23 re-run of the city's mayoral election.

17 May 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT USA-ELECTION/BIDEN

Former Vice President Biden shows strength early, but pitfalls loom in 2020 race Former Vice President Joe Biden has shown surprising strength in the first three weeks of his campaign for the Democratic presidential nomination, prompting a persistent question: Can anyone stop him?

17 May 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT AUSTRALIA-ELECTION/ (PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

Australia goes to the polls in a general election 18 May

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE SYRIA-SECURITY/UN

U.N. Security Council briefed on situation in northwest Syria U.N. Security Council publicly briefed on situation in northwest Syria, at request of Kuwait, Germany and Belgium.

17 May 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

LUCKINCOFFEE-IPO/ (PIX) Starbucks' China rival Luckin debuts on Nasdaq Friday will mark Luckin Coffee's IPO debut.

17 May 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT EU-TAX/BLACKLIST

EU finance ministers to update blacklist of tax havens European Union finance ministers are expected to update the bloc's blacklist of tax havens.

17 May 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT STONEMOR PRTNRS-DEBT/

Direct lenders vie to resurrect cemetery company StoneMor U.S. cemetery operator StoneMor Partners L.P.'s rising debt load has put it at death's door, but specialized lending funds are looking to make more loans to the company, according to sources familiar with talks.

17 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT NORWAY-CHINA/ (PIX)

With energy high on agenda, China's no.3 leader visits Norway With energy projects high on the agenda, China and Norway will mark a further thaw in relations on Wednesday when Beijing's third-ranked politician arrives in Oslo.

18 May ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/5B (PIX) (TV) HIV/AIDS epidemic documentary '5B' premieres in Cannes

"5B" a documentary on the HIV/AIDS epidemic, screens Out of Competition at the Cannes Film Festival. 17 May 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

MUSIC-EUROVISION/FANS (PIX) (TV) Eurovision fans gearing up in Eurovision Village and across city for the Grand Finale

17 May 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT SOMALIA-TOURISM/ (PIX) (TV)

Away from blasts, gunfights, Somalia's tourism blossoms on popular beach Few aspiring restauranteurs would consider the threat of piracy among their top priorities. But for Abdulkadir Mohamed, owner of La Lanterna floating restaurant in Mogadishu, it was intrinsic to his design.

17 May 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/PAIN AND GLORY PREMIERE (PIX) (TV)

Penelope Cruz and Antonio Banderas walk Cannes red carpet Spanish stars Penelope Cruz and Antonio Banderas join director Pedro Almodovar on the Cannes Film Festival red carpet for the premiere of their competition entry 'Pain and Glory'.

17 May 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/TOO OLD TO DIE YOUNG (TV)

Amazon TV show screens Out of Competition in Cannes Nicholas Winding Refn's "Too Old To Die Young - North of Hollywood, West of Hell", screens Out of Competition at the Cannes Film Festival.

17 May 17:30 ET / 21:30 GMT FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/LITTLE JOE PREMIERE (PIX) (TV)

Jessica Hausner premieres Cannes competition film 'Little Joe' Director Jessica Hausner and the cast of "Little Joe" walk the red carpet for the official screening of the Cannes competition film.

17 May 10:30 ET / 14:30 GMT MUSIC-EUROVISION/FANS-PARTY (TV)

Fans party at Eurovision fan zone ahead of song contest final 18 May

MUSIC-EUROVISION/ISRAEL-PALESTINIANS (TV) Anti-Israel protests in Tel Aviv ahead of song contest final Anti Israel protests expected in Tel Aviv ahead of Eurovision song contest final.

18 May FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/PAIN AND GLORY (PIX) (TV)

Almodovar, Cruz and Bandeiras hold Cannes news conference Director Pedro Almodovar and actors Penelope Cruz and Antonio Banderas attend a Cannes news conference to present their competition entry "Pain and Glory". 18 May

SPORTS GOLF-PGACHAMP/ (PIX) (TV)

Golf - PGA Championship second round Second round coverage of the major championship at Bethpage Black in New York.

17 May 06:45 ET / 10:45 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT