Left Menu
Development News Edition

PDP district president Leh Tashi Gyalson, several leaders joins BJP in Ladakh

PDP district president Leh Tashi Gyalson, several leaders joins BJP in Ladakh
Image Credit: ANI

Several PDP leaders, including party's district president Leh Tashi Gyalson, have joined the BJP, a spokesperson of the saffron party said here on Wednesday. Almost the entire Leh unit of the PDP led by Gyalson joined the BJP at the party headquarters on Tuesday evening, he said.

Chairman and chief executive councillor of the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) and BJP's candidate for the Ladakh parliamentary constituency Jamyang Tsering Namgyal welcomed the new entrants into the party fold. Besides Gyalson, others who have joined the BJP include women wing president and nominated councillor Rinchen Lhamo, vice president Tsewang Dorjay Onpo, zonal president Nubra Capt Phunstog, general secretary Sangay Dorjay and executive members Tundup and Phuntsog, the spokesman said.

Gyalson, who joined the PDP in 2008, said they were highly impressed by the BJP slogan 'Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas' and decided to join the party. The spokesman said their joining will strengthen the party at the grassroots level in the region which is going to polls in the final phase of the Lok Sabha polls on May 6.

Veteran leader Thupstan Chhewang had won the seat for the BJP for the first time in 2014 by a slight margin of 36 votes, but he resigned from the primary membership of the party in November last year, saying that all promises made by the BJP sounded like "empty rhetoric".

(With inputs from agencies.)

Download The Devdiscourse News App for Latest News.



Conspiracy theories on COVID 19: Legislators, Scientists, and Journalists all joined the Caravan

Conspiracy theories are not new for virus epidemics. There have been conspiracy theories on HIV-AIDS, Polio Vaccines, Ebola Virus, and several other diseases as well. However, what makes the 2019 Novel Coronavirus different from others is ...

Top 10 Fake News, Myths and Realities on 2019 Novel Coronavirus COVID 19

With nearly 1500 deaths by January 14 and around 65,000 infections in China, the Novel Coronavirus 2019 has become one of the worst health epidemics of the 21st Century. However, 8,573 people have been cured but the rumor mongers are a...

Handling fake news Infodemic in time of Coronavirus epidemic

Social media has provided a platform where everybody can disseminate his her views without any supervision. Its excellent if the message is genuine but misinformation is equally disastrous. Health is such a topic where every Tom and Harry c...

Sentiment Analysis on Budget 2020: Long shot for solution to economic worries?

Industries and individuals alike had high expectations from the government to take tangible steps but the budget 2020 seems to have failed expectations....


Latest News

Stanton: 80 HRs in 2017 if pitches known

Giancarlo Stanton thought about the prospect of knowing what pitches were coming via illegal sign stealing and realized how he could have used it to his advantage. If I knew what was coming in 17, I probably would have hit 80-plus home runs...

Mexican prosecutors to issue arrest warrants in probe for young girl's murder

Mexican authorities said on Wednesday they would soon issue arrest warrants for two people wanted for the murder of a 7-year-old girl in Mexico City, the latest in a series of killings that have unleashed outrage over growing violence again...

FEATURE-Olympics-Surfs up, Igarashi riding wave of Olympic opportunity

With a back story ripped from a Hollywood script, crossover charisma and surfing skill that would impress Duke Kahanamoku, Kanoa Igarashi is riding a wave of opportunity that could carry him to Olympic gold and the sport to new heights. A y...

Motor racing-Newman released from hospital following Daytona 500 crash

Driver Ryan Newman was released from the hospital on Wednesday, two days after a spectacular crash during the last lap of the Daytona 500 saw him carted off the track with injuries. According to his Roush Fenway Racing team, the 42-year-old...

Give Feedback