Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

List of Nations and Airlines grounding Boeing's 737 MAX 8 post Ethiopia crash

Devdiscourse News Desk paris
Updated: 13-03-2019 20:58 IST
List of Nations and Airlines grounding Boeing's 737 MAX 8 post Ethiopia crash

Image Credit: ANI

A number of countries have banned Boeing's 737 MAX 8 medium-haul workhorse jet from their airspace in response to the Ethiopian Airlines crash that killed all 157 people on board. Several airlines have grounded the MAX 8s in their fleets, but many others are continuing to fly the plane pending an investigation into the crash and possible guidance from Boeing itself.

Airlines still operating the model have been restricted by the airspace bans. Air Canada, for example, was obliged to cancel some flights to London because of Britain's ban on the aircraft. The Nairobi-bound plane was the same type as the Indonesian Lion Air jet that crashed in October, killing 189 passengers and crew -- and some officials have detected similarities between the two accidents.

More than 370 of the 737 MAX 8s are in service around the world, with nearly 5,000 on order. Here is a round-up of countries and airlines that have banned the 737 MAX: - Asia-Pacific -

================ Australia

China India

Indonesia Kazakhstan

Malaysia New Zealand

- Middle East - ===============

Egypt Kuwait

Lebanon Oman

United Arab Emirates -- including major hub Dubai Africa ======

Namibia Europe

====== All European Union countries

Serbia - Airlines -

============= Outside of countries whose authorities have banned flights of 737 MAX jets, here is a list of individual airlines that have grounded them: Aerolineas Argentinas

Aeromexico Cayman Airways

Comair (South Africa) Eastar Jet (South Korea)

Ethiopian Airlines Gol Airlines (Brazil)

Icelandair MIAT Mongolian Airlines

Norwegian Air Shuttle S7 (Russia)

(With inputs from agencies.)