Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT


Reuters
Updated: 29-01-2019 03:34 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT

Brazil’s government weighed pushing for a management overhaul at miner Vale SA on Monday as grief over hundreds feared killed by a dam burst turned into anger, with prosecutors, politicians and victims’ families calling for punishment.

ISRAEL-PALESTINIANS-HEBRON/ Israel's Netanyahu to eject foreign observers in flashpoint Hebron

HEBRON, West Bank (Reuters) - Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu said on Monday he would eject a foreign force set up to help safeguard Palestinians in a flashpoint city in the occupied West Bank, accusing the observers of anti-Israel activity. U.S.

USA-SHUTDOWN/ Shutdown costs pegged at $3 billion as government reopens

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The U.S. economy was expected to lose $3 billion from the partial federal government shutdown over President Donald Trump’s demand for border wall funding, congressional researchers said on Monday as 800,000 federal employees returned to work after a 35-day unpaid furlough. USA-WEATHER/

Polar vortex to freeze U.S. upper Midwest and Northeast The U.S. Midwest and Northeast were braced for dangerous subzero temperatures this week, as the polar vortex was set to blast arctic conditions unusually far south, the National Weather Service said on Monday.

BUSINESS USA-CHINA-HUAWEI-TECH-CHARGES/

U.S. unseals indictments against China's Huawei and CFO Wanzhou WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The U.S. Justice Department unsealed two indictments on Monday against China’s Huawei Technologies Co Ltd, several of its subsidiaries and its chief financial officer Meng Wanzhou, in a pair of cases accusing the company of everything from bank and wire fraud to obstructing justice and conspiring to steal trade secrets from T-Mobile US Inc.

SNAP-MESSAGES-EXCLUSIVE/ Exclusive: Snapchat weighs what was once unthinkable - permanent snaps

NEW YORK (Reuters) - Snap Inc is considering changes to its Snapchat app, known for disappearing photos and videos, that could make users’ public posts longer lasting or even permanent, people familiar with the matter said. ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-JACKSON-DOCUMENTARY/ Michael Jackson's family calls new documentary 'public lynching'

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - The family of Michael Jackson on Monday described reaction to a new documentary about alleged child sex abuse by the late singer as a “public lynching” and said he was “100 percent innocent” of such accusations. AWARDS-SAG/

'Black Panther' takes top SAG awards prize, elevating Oscar chances LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Superhero film “Black Panther,” heralded for its mainly black cast and vibrant celebration of African culture, won the top Screen Actors Guild award on Sunday, boosting its stature ahead of next month’s Oscars ceremony.

SPORTS FOOTBALL-NFL-NO-BREES/

Brees on controversial game: 'This will make us stronger' With a week behind him since the controversial loss to the Los Angeles Rams in the NFC championship game, New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees took to social media Monday morning to share his thoughts about how his team’s season ended and to address Saints fans.

BASEBALL-MLB-SF-MAGOWAN-OBIT/ Former Giants executive Magowan dies at 76

Peter Magowan, the former San Francisco Giants executive who thwarted a relocation attempt and championed construction of the waterfront stadium now called Oracle Park, passed away Sunday at age 76 after a long fight with cancer. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS EU-INVESTMENTS/AUDITORS

European auditors publish report on EU investment plan A flagship investment project to revive the European Union's economy has disproportionately favoured larger member states and its results may have been overstated, EU auditors say.

29 Jan 18:00 ET / 23:00 GMT ETHIOPIA-POLITICS/

Trial starts for Ethiopia officials over rights abuses, beheadings The former head of Ethiopia’s strife-torn Somali region and dozens of other officials will go on trial, charged with plotting to incite a civil war and ordering abuses including beheadings.

29 Jan BRITAIN-EU/WETHERSPOON (TV)

Wetherspoon’s boss on Brexit campaign Wetherspoon’s boss Tim Martin says he’s already Brexited in his own business, for example by swapping French Champagne and Cognac for English sparkling wine and Australian brandy, and there’s little stopping other companies doing the same.

29 Jan EU-ELECTION/FRANCE-FARRIGHT (PIX) (TV)

Interview with the rising star of Marine Le Pen's French far-right party Interview with Jordan Bardella, the 23-year-old heading Marine Le Pen's European election campaign, on the party's ambitions for Europe, its financing, the risk posed by an emerging "yellow vest" political movement and prospects for a tie-up with populist parties from Austria to Italy to Poland.

29 Jan 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT NORTHKOREA-NUCLEAR/ (TV)

U.N.-sponsored Conference on Disarmament holds plenary U.N.'s Conference on Disarmament holds plenary with 12 member delegations on speakers' list from last week, including North Korea. Russia may respond to accusations by U.S. ambassador last week that Moscow was violating the Intermediate-range Nuclear Forces Treaty with a new missile system.

29 Jan 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT GERMANY-POLITICS/HOLOCAUST (PIX) (TV)

German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas meets young Germans at the Holocaust Memorial in Berlin German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas meets young Germans at the Holocaust Memorial in Berlin

29 Jan 06:30 ET / 11:30 GMT EU-EIB/

European Investment Bank holds news conference on results and plans The European Investment Bank holds a news conference on its 2018 results and plans for this year

29 Jan 04:30 ET / 09:30 GMT ZIMBABWE-POLITICS/ (PIX) (TV)

Zimbabwe court rules on activist pastor's bail bid Zimbabwe's High Court will rule whether to free activist pastor Evan Mawarire from detention, more than a week after he was arrested on subversion charges in a brutal security crackdown against violent street protests triggered by a sharp rise in the price of fuel.

29 Jan SAUDI-KHASHOGGI/TURKEY-INVESTIGATION (PIX) (TV)

U.N. Special rapporteur holds talks in Turkey over Khashoggi investigation U.N. special rapporteur on extrajudicial, summary or arbitrary executions Agnes Callamard holds week-long talks in Turkey as part of an inquiry into the murder of Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi.

29 Jan USA-TRUMP/BARR (PIX)

U.S. Senate panel votes on attorney general nominee Barr Senate Judiciary Committee votes on whether to send President Donald Trump's attorney general nominee William Barr's nomination to full U.S. Senate for confirmation vote.

29 Jan BELGIUM-NETHERLANDS/BORDER (PIX) (TV)

Belgium-Netherlands border town somehow functions with two of everything An exclave of Belgium in the Netherlands with several chunks of the Netherlands within it, the town of Baarle has two councils, two postal services and different national laws applying in different parts of the town.

29 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT USA-IMMIGRATION/PENTAGON

U.S. House panel holds hearing on military mission to southern border House Armed Services Committee conducts hearing on Defense Department's mission to U.S.-Mexico border.

29 Jan 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT UKRAINE-ELECTION/POROSHENKO (PIX) (TV)

Ukraine President Poroshenko to announce he stands in the election in March Ukraine's President Petro Poroshenko may announce that he will stand in the presidential elections set for March 31.

29 Jan 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT BRITAIN-EU/HAMMOND

Finance minister Philip Hammond and his ministers answer questions in parliament British finance minister Philip Hammond and his ministers take part in a regular question session in parliament.

29 Jan 06:30 ET / 11:30 GMT AFGHANISTAN-YOUTH/ (TV)

Afghan youth face a changing world if peace talks bring Taliban back A new generation of Afghan youth has grown up since the Taliban regime was ousted by a U.S.-led campaign in 2001, knowing only a world of mobile phones, girls’ education and consumer goods. How do they see the prospect of a return of the Taliban and the end to the American presence after 17 years of war?

29 Jan PAKISTAN-BLASPHEMY/ (TV)

Pakistan's apex court to hear review petition against Asia Bibi acquittal Pakistan's Supreme Court will hear a review petition against its verdict acquitting Asia Bibi in a blasphemy case. In October last year, the court had acquitted Bibi from blasphemy allegations, triggering countrywide protests by an extremist religious party filing a review petition against the judgment.

29 Jan BRITAIN-EU/ (PIX) (TV)

British parliament debates PM May's Brexit 'plan B' British parliament debates Prime Minister Theresa May's Brexit 'plan B' and the alternatives put forward by other lawmakers. They will then vote on different amendments on Tuesday evening.

29 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT USA-CONGRESS/YARMUTH (PIX)

House Budget Committee Chair Yarmuth visits Reuters Washington House Budget Committee Chairman John Yarmuth (D-KY) visits Reuters Washington.

29 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT SAFRICA-ELECTIONS/ (PIX)

South African elections agency voter registration update Electoral Commission holds press conference on the outcome of final registration weekend for 2019 National and Provincial Elections, expected around May and wherein the ruling ANC looks to consolidate its electoral stranglehold in face of state corruption tarnishing reputation. .

29 Jan 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

USA-SECURITY/ (PIX) (TV) Intelligence community leaders testify on 'worldwide threats'

FBI Director Christopher Wray, CIA Director Gina Haspel, Director of National Intelligence Daniel Coats, and other leaders of U.S. intelligence community testify before Senate Intelligence Committee on "worldwide threats." 29 Jan 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

GERMANY-MILITARY/ (TV) Military commissioner reports continuing personnel, equipment shortfalls in military

The German parliament's ombudsman for the armed services releases his annual report, which is expected to show continued gaps in personnel and military equipment, even as Defence Minister Ursula von der Leyen faces a parliamentary investigation into irregularities in her ministry's use of outside advisers. 29 Jan 06:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

DISASTERS / ACCIDENTS CANADA-CRASH/

Truck driver sentenced for Canada bus crash that killed 16 The sentencing hearing begins for a truck driver convicted in the deaths of 16 people, after his rig collided with a bus carrying a junior hockey team last summer.

29 Jan USA-WEATHER/

Polar vortex to freeze U.S. upper Midwest and Northeast A polar vortex brings dangerous subzero temperatures and snow to the Midwestern and Northeast United States.

29 Jan CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

EU-CANADA/COURT EU court adviser gives opinion on EU-Canada free trade agreement

European Court of Justice advocate general gives recommendation on EU-Canada free trade agreement, following a question by Belgium on whether the deal is compatible with EU rules, such as on fundamental rights 29 Jan 03:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS USA-SHUTDOWN/NATIVEAMERICANS (PIX)

FEATURE - 'We know how to survive', but shutdown cut deeper for Native Americans Native Americans were especially vulnerable during the shutdown - they rely mostly on federal contracts for services and jobs in the Bureau of Indian affairs for incomes.

29 Jan 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT USA-FED/FOMC (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

Federal Open Market Committee meets to discuss interest rate policy. Federal Open Market Committee begins a two-day meeting on interest rate policy.

29 Jan ALLERGAN-RESULTS/ (PIX)

Allergan to report fourth-quarter financial results Botox-maker Allergan Plc will report its fourth-quarter earnings on Tuesday. Investors will focus on development updates on the company's treatment portfolio as the drugmaker faces looming competition for its blockbuster eye drug Restasis, and on any comments about progress with the potential sale of two business units which it announced last year.

29 Jan 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT BRITAIN-EU/ECONOMY

Top UK finance regulators quizzed on Brexit Parliament's Treasury committee questions John Glen, Economic Secretary to the Treasury, Andrew Bailey, Chief Executive, Financial Conduct Authority,

Sam Woods, Deputy Governor for Prudential Regulation, Bank of England and Chief Executive Officer, Prudential Regulation Authority about the UK's economic relationship with the EU. 29 Jan 04:15 ET / 09:15 GMT

FRANCE-ETHANOL/ French ethanol lobby holds press conference

Annual press conference to give overview of French market for ethanol, the crop-based fuel blended in gasoline. Checking to see if consumer discontent over fuel taxes and a decline in diesel use are benefitting demand for ethanol. 29 Jan

VERIZON-RESULTS/ (PIX) Verizon reports fourth quarter results

Verizon Communications Inc is expected to post a rise in quarterly revenue as the largest U.S. wireless carrier adds more net new phone subscribers who pay a monthly bill. 29 Jan 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

KENYA-CENBANK/ Kenya's central bank governor to hold press conference after rate decision

Kenya's central bank governor will hold a press conference on Tuesday after Monday's decision by the monetary policy committee to hold the key interest rate at 9 percent. 29 Jan

PFIZER-RESULTS/ (PIX) Pfizer Inc posts fourth-quarter earnings

Pfizer Inc will report fourth-quarter earnings on Tuesday when investors will watch for details on company strategy under new Chief Executive Albert Bourla, who took over the helm at the beginning of the year. 29 Jan 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

XEROX-RESULTS/ (PIX) Xerox reports fourth quarter results

Xerox's revenue is expected to fall as it continues to face declines in its core printing and photocopying business. The company is cutting costs under its new management backed by activist investors Carl Icahn and Darwin Deason, which is expected to help profit. 29 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

LOCKHEED-RESULTS/ (PIX) Lockheed Martin, Q4

Lockheed Martin Corp, the Pentagon's No. 1 weapons supplier, is expected to report a rise in quarterly profit on Tuesday. 29 Jan

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY NORTHKOREA-POLLUTION/ (PIX) (TV)

N.Korea's push to use more coal clouds environmental future North Korean leader Kim Jong Un sees coal as a key way to boost the economy, but burning more coal may worsen pollution in a country already choking on some of the world's most toxic air.

29 Jan 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

BRITAIN-EU/TRAVEL European Parliament committee votes on visa-free travel for Britons after Brexit

Visa exemption for UK citizens. The Civil Liberties Committee will vote on Tuesday on a new law that adds the UK to the list of countries whose nationals do not need a visa to enter the EU. It will be applicable once the UK becomes a non-EU country and if EU citizens travelling to the UK are also exempt from visa requirements. 29 Jan

FILMFESTIVAL-BERLIN/LINEUP (PIX) (TV) Full line-up announced for 69th Berlin Film Festival

Organisers of the Berlin Film Festival, known as the Berlinale, hold a news conference to unveil the full programme for the event's 69th edition. 29 Jan 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

SPORTS FOOTBALL-NFL-SUPERBOWL/PROTEST

NFL - Will player protests return at Super Bowl? Player protests of taking a knee have quietly disappeared and are no longer a major NFL talking point. Donald Trump has been silent on the issue and the NFL, NFLPA and everyone else seem happy to let sleeping dogs lie. But could this controversy rear up again in Atlanta?

29 Jan


POST A COMMENT