Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
VisionRI - Urban Development

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT


Reuters
Updated: 11-04-2019 11:29 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT

Indians began voting on Thursday in the first phase of a mammoth general election, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi gunning for a second term having campaigned strongly on his national security record following a flare up in tensions with Pakistan.

SUDAN-POLITICS/ Sudan state TV says armed forces to make important announcement soon

KHARTOUM (Reuters) - Sudan state television said on Thursday that the country’s armed forces would make an important announcement soon as state radio played patriotic music. U.S.

USA-ABORTION/ More U.S. states push ahead with near-bans on abortion for Supreme court challenge

North Dakota Republican Governor Doug Burgum signed legislation on Wednesday making it a crime for doctors to perform a second-trimester abortion using instruments like forceps and clamps to remove the fetus from the womb. USA-WEATHER/

Blizzard barrels through U.S. Great Plains, threatening new floods DENVER (Reuters) - A “bomb cyclone” blizzard swept out of the Rockies into the Great Plains on Wednesday, leading the Colorado governor to activate the National Guard and prompting fears of more flooding in areas still recovering from a deluge last month.

BUSINESS USA-HOUSE-BANKS/

U.S. lawmakers grill bank CEOs on social issues Chief executives of some of the largest U.S. banks faced off with the House Financial Services committee for the first time since the financial crisis on Wednesday armed with the healthy balance sheets, but lawmakers grilled executives more on social issues than business fundamentals.

USA-BANKS-RECESSION/ How to say the 'R-word': bank executives grapple with recession talk

NEW YORK (Reuters) - Executives at the largest U.S. banks are grappling with how to best talk about the slowing economy and its impact on their businesses as they enter earnings season, people familiar with their thinking told Reuters. ENTERTAINMENT

FILM-THELIONKING/ Disney's 'Lion King' remake roars to life with new trailer

LONDON (Reuters) - With stunning scenery of Africa and some talking wildlife, Disney dropped its first full length trailer for its realistic-looking remake of “The Lion King” on Wednesday, offering a glimpse of the highly anticipated film. PEOPLE-KIM-KARDASHIAN/

Kim Kardashian studying to be a lawyer in apprenticeship program LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Reality star Kim Kardashian is studying to be a lawyer, inspired by her success in helping to win the release from U.S. prisons of two women.

SPORTS SOCCER-ENGLAND/

Soccer-Visit of Chelsea revives bitter memories for Liverpool LONDON, April 11 (Reuters) - Liverpool fans could be excused if they break out into cold sweats in the build-up to this weekend's crunch Premier League clash with bogey side Chelsea at Anfield.

TENNIS-HOUSTON/ Garin saves five match points to stun Chardy in Houston

Chilean Christian Garin saved five match points to upset second seed Jeremy Chardy of France 3-6 7-6(4) 7-6(7) and advance to the quarter-finals of the U.S. Men's Clay Court Championship in Houston on Wednesday. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS TURKEY-BURKINA/

Turkey's Erdogan holds news conference with Burkina Faso President Kabore Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan hosts Burkina Faso President Roch Marc Kabore (1130 GMT) and they hold a joint news conference (1330 GMT).

11 Apr 07:30 ET / 11:30 GMT SPAIN-ELECTION/

EXPLAINER:What's next for Spain as elections loom? Spain's April 28 election is one of its most bitterly fought in decades, with opinion polls showing the result is too close to call and various coalition governments are possible, led by either the left or the right. The story will explain what is at stake, who could win and what the election is fought on.

11 Apr 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT USA-TRUMP/RUSSIA-REDACTIONS (PIX)

EXPLAINER: What could be blacked out in Mueller's report? U.S. Attorney General William Barr will likely redact sections of U.S. Special Counsel Robert Mueller's report on the inquiry into Russia’s role in the 2016 U.S. election. This piece will explain the aspects of Mueller's probe most likely to be kept secret by Barr.

11 Apr 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT INDONESIA-ELECTION/CORRUPTION (PIX)

Pushing the envelope: Money politics mars Indonesian poll Shanti Ramchand learned quickly what was expected when she began campaigning in Jakarta for Indonesia's national parliament – motorcycles, air conditioning units and cash would need to be gifted if she wanted to hold even a small campaign event.

11 Apr 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT SAFRICA-POLITICS/ (PIX) (TV)

In crowded South African township, shack-dwellers ask: "why vote?" After twenty-five years of unfulfilled promises, South African shack-dweller Johanna Ditsela is disillusioned with the African National Congress (ANC) and may not vote in next month's national election.

11 Apr 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT RUSSIA-BUSINESS/DETENTION (PIX) (TV)

Russian investigators call for U.S. investor to be let out of jail Russian court hears investigators call for U.S. investor and founder of the Baring Vostok private equity group Michael Calvey to be let out of jail and placed under house arrest instead. Calvey was detained in February on suspicion of fraud.

11 Apr 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

AUSTRIA-CRIME/ (PIX) Anti-corruption prosecutors hold annual news conference Austrian prosecutors in charge of economic crimes and corruption hold an annual news conference.

11 Apr 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT LOUISIANA-FIRES/

Suspect arrested for fires at three black churches in Louisiana Police have arrested a man suspected of setting fire to three predominately black churches in a southern Louisiana parish, a federal prosecutor said on Wednesday.

11 Apr 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT BRITAIN-GEORGIA/SPEEDBOAT

British speedboat killer Jack Shepherd appears at the Old Bailey after extradition from Georgia Shepherd, 31, who went on the run last year after being convicted of killing a woman in a speedboat crash on the River Thames has been handed over to UK authorities after being detained in the former Soviet state of Georgia.

11 Apr 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

USA-AMAZON/ Amazon General Counsel David Zapolsky visits Reuters office

David Zapolsky, who oversees Amazon's legal, policy, compliance and regulatory affairs, will speak with Reuters reporters in the Washington office. 11 Apr 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

NEWZEALAND-ECONOMY/PMI BNZ releases New Zealand performance of manufacturing index for March

BNZ releases New Zealand performance of manufacturing index for March. 12 Apr 18:30 ET / 22:30 GMT

USA-FED/BOWMAN Federal Reserve Board Governor Bowman speaks on community banking

Federal Reserve Board Governor Michelle Bowman speaks on "Community Banking in the Age of Innovation" before a Fed Family Luncheon hosted by the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco, in San Francisco, Calif. 11 Apr 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

UBER-IPO/LYFT Lyft's stock slide casts long shadow on Uber's IPO

Uber Technologies Inc may face a cooler reception from investors than expected when it prices its initial public offering next month since smaller U.S. ride-hailing rival Lyft Inc's aggressive stock launch and subsequent fall. 11 Apr 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

OSLO BORS VPS-M&A/ Norway PM to speak at 200th anniversary of Oslo Bors VPS

Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg will give a speech at dinner celebrating the 200th anniversary of stock market operator Oslo Bors VPS, which is subject to a takeover battle between Euronext and Nasdaq 11 Apr 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

USA-FED/WILLIAMS New York Federal Reserve Bank President Williams speaks at housing conference

Federal Reserve Bank of New York President John Williams speaks before the Association for Neighborhood & Housing Development 2019 Annual Conference, in New York. 11 Apr 09:35 ET / 13:35 GMT

NORWAY-HOMESALES/ Norway's new home sales

Norwegian new home sales data for March released 11 Apr 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

USA-FED/KASHKARI Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis President Kashkari holds Q&A on Twitter

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis President Neel Kashkari holds a Q&A via Twitter, from Minneapolis, Minn. 11 Apr 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

WALT DISNEY-STREAMING/CONTENT (PIX) Marvel, monsters and 'Mandalorian' coming to Disney+ app

Walt Disney Co is set to unveil new details about a coming subscription service called Disney+. This is a list of some of the programming. 11 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

ETHIOPIA-AIRPLANE/BOEING (PIX) (TV) Boeing CEO speaks in Dallas

Boeing Co. Chief Executive Dennis Muilenburg speaks at George W. Bush Presidential Center's Forum on Leadership. 11 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

CHEVRON-MYANMAR/ (PIX) Chevron to focus on Myanmar human rights, reaches deal with investor

Chevron Corp agreed to put a focus on human rights in Myanmar, under an agreement with investor activists who had urged it to pay more attention to a crackdown on minority Rohingya Muslims in the Asian nation where the company has operations. 11 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY ISRAEL-SPACE/ (TV) (GRAPHIC)

Israeli spacecraft due to land on the moon Israeli spacecraft Beresheet expected to land on the moon late Thursday night (Israel time). Landing will be shown on screens near Israel Aerospace Industries control room in Yehud. A news conference will be held after the landing.

11 Apr 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

WALT DISNEY-STREAMING/ (PIX) Disney's streaming plan comes into focus Walt Disney Co unveils its plan to plunge into the streaming media business and take on technology giant Netflix Inc

11 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT SPORTS

GOLF-MASTERS/ (PIX) (TV) Golf - The Masters

Golf pros compete at the Masters being held at Augusta National Golf Club. 11 Apr 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT


POST A COMMENT