Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
VisionRI - Urban Development

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT


Reuters
Updated: 17-04-2019 11:28 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT

Indonesians voted on Wednesday to pick a new president and parliament after a six-month campaign in the sprawling equatorial archipelago dominated by economic issues but also marked by the growing influence of conservative Islam.

CANADA-POLITICS-ALBERTA/ Right-wing opposition sweeps to power in Canada's oil region, sets up fight with Trudeau

CALGARY, Alberta (Reuters) - A right-of-center party that champions the energy industry swept to power in Canada’s main oil-producing province of Alberta on Tuesday, setting up a fight with Prime Minister Justin Trudeau over climate change just months ahead of a federal election. U.S.

USA-IMMIGRATION-BOND/ Trump attorney general's ruling expands indefinite detention for asylum seekers

NEW YORK/SAN FRANCISCO (Reuters) - The U.S. Attorney General on Tuesday struck down a decision that had allowed some asylum seekers to ask for bond in front of an immigration judge, in a ruling that expands indefinite detention for some migrants who must wait months or years for their cases to be heard. JD-COM-CEO/

Minnesota student sues China's JD.com CEO Liu with allegation of rape A University of Minnesota student who said she was raped last August by Richard Liu, the chief executive officer of China’s e-commerce retailer JD.com Inc, filed a civil lawsuit against him in a Minneapolis court on Tuesday, nearly four months after prosecutors declined to press criminal charges.

BUSINESS APPLE-QUALCOMM/

Qualcomm stock jumps 23 percent on surprise settlement with Apple Qualcomm Inc on Tuesday won a major victory in its wide-ranging legal dispute with Apple Inc as the companies reached a surprise settlement that called for the iPhone to once again use Qualcomm modem chips.

USA-ECONOMY-DIESEL/ Truck drivers see orders, miles fall in latest U.S. slowdown signal

At a truck stop in Ridgefield, New Jersey, driver Paul Richards reviews a notebook where he tracks miles driven and what he is hauling. His paycheck is down about 25 percent from the same period a year ago, and his weekly miles have dropped as well. ENTERTAINMENT

FILM-AVENGERS-ENDGAME/ 'Avengers: Endgame' movie directors plead: 'Don't spoil it'

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - The directors of “Avengers: Endgame” pleaded with fans on Tuesday not to spoil the movie by giving away storylines after reports that some scenes had leaked online. TECH-ROBOT-ART/

AI Robot paints its own moonscapes in traditional Chinese style LONDON (Reuters) - A Hong Kong artist has created an artificial intelligence (AI) robot which creates its own paintings.

SPORTS RUGBY-UNION-AUSTRALIA/

Australia's Folau asks for code of conduct hearing SYDNEY, April 17 (Reuters) - Wallabies fullback Israel Folau has asked for a code of conduct hearing to be scheduled by Rugby Australia (RA) after the governing body said they intended to terminate his contract for controversial social media posts.

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-FCB-MUN/ 'Messi always gets us out of trouble' - Valverde

BARCELONA, April 17 (Reuters) - Barcelona coach Ernesto Valverde praised Lionel Messi for settling his side down after a nervy start against Manchester United and inspiring the Catalans to a 3-0 victory to reach the Champions League quarter-finals. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS CANADA-POLITICS/ALBERTA-CARBON (PIX)

Alberta vote fuels fight over PM Trudeau's signature climate policy The Alberta vote is likely to fuel the Conservative Party's attack on Prime Minister Justin Trudeau's signature climate change policy - a nationwide carbon tax - ahead of the October national election.

17 Apr 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT IRELAND-USA/ (PIX) (TV)

U.S. House of Representatives speaker Nancy Pelosi addresses Irish parliament U.S. House of Representatives speaker Nancy Pelosi addresses Irish parliament

17 Apr 06:30 ET / 10:30 GMT SAUDI-ARRESTS/ (PIX)

Saudi court resumes trial of prominent women activists Nearly a dozen prominent Saudi women activists return to court to face charges related to their human rights work, in a case that has sharpened Western criticism of the kingdom.

17 Apr 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT UKRAINE-ELECTION/PREVIEW (PIX)

Ukrainians set to elect comedian as next president Ukrainians fed up with entrenched corruption and hungry for change are likely to elect Volodymyr Zelenskiy, a comedian with no previous political experience, as their next president in a run-off vote on Sunday.

17 Apr 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT MYANMAR-POLITICS/AMNESTY

Myanmar to free more than 9,000 prisoners in New Year amnesty Myanmar began releasing more than 9000 prisoners from jails across the country on Wednesday, after the country’s president granted a mass amnesty on the first day of the Burmese New Year. In a statement posted to his Facebook page, President Win Myint said 9,353 prisoners, including 16 foreign nationals, had been pardoned “as a gesture of marking the Myanmar New Year, for the peace and pleasure of the people, and taking into consideration humanitarian concerns”.

17 Apr 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT USA-COLUMBINE/SURVIVORS (PIX)

WIDER IMAGE - Twenty years after Columbine, survivors help theirs heal

Almost two decades separate the traumatic experiences of Michelle Wheeler and Chad Williams, who both survived mass shootings. But as they shared their stories one evening last July, 20 years seemed to evaporate in the crisp Colorado air. The similarities were too many to count. 17 Apr 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE PERU-CORRUPTION/ (PIX) (TV)

Judge to decide if ex-President Kuczynski stays in jail before trial Justice to decide if accepts a prosecutor demand to order former president Pedro Pablo Kuczynski to three years in jail before trial while he is investigated for allegedly taking bribes from Brazilian builder Odebrecht.

17 Apr 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

PEPSICO-RESULTS/ PepsiCo Inc Q1 Earnings

PepsiCo is expected to report a rise in first-quarter sales, driven by higher demand for beverage and snacks in North America. However, its international business is likely to show a drop in sales, hurt by currency fluctuations and ongoing geopolitical tensions. 17 Apr 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

EU-TECH/REGULATION EU lawmakers to vote on fines for internet firms that fail to remove extremist content

The European Parliament will vote on whether to endorse draft plans to fine Facebook, Google, Twitter and other online platforms if they fail to remove extremist content within one hour. 17 Apr 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

SPACE-EXPLORATION/GERMANY (PIX) (TV) Fly me to the moon: Germany eyes slice of lucrative space market

Facing tough competition from China, the United States and even tiny Luxembourg, Germany is racing to draft new laws and attract private investment to secure a slice of an emerging space market that could be worth $1 trillion a year by the 2040s. 17 Apr 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

USA-FED/BEIGEBOOK Federal Reserve issues the Beige Book

Federal Reserve issues Beige Book of economic condition, in Washington. 17 Apr 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

USA-CENSUS/BUSINESS (PIX) INSIGHT - Companies warn Trump: Census citizenship question could be costly

An array of U.S. companies have told the Trump administration that a citizenship question on the 2020 Census would harm business if it leads to an undercount of immigrants, undermining the data they use to place stores, plan inventory and plot ad campaigns. 17 Apr 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

USA-FED/HARKER Philadelphia Federal Reserve Bank President Harker speaks on economic outlook

Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia President Patrick Harker speaks on the economic outlook before a Greater Vineland Chamber of Commerce luncheon, in Vineland, N.J. 17 Apr 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

PLATINUM-ZIMBABWE/ (PIX) Cypriot investor Karo Resources gives update on its platinum mining project in Zimbabwe

Cypriot investor Karo Resources gives Presidenr Emmerson Mnangagwa and media update on its planned $4.2 billion platinum mine, which it expects to start production next year. 17 Apr 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

USA-TRADE/CHINA AmCham China briefing on business climate in China

The American Chamber of Commerce in China holds a briefing on its annual position paper. 17 Apr 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

USA-FED/LOGAN Federal Reserve Bank of New York Senior Vice President Lorie Logan speaks before Money Marketeers group

Federal Reserve Bank of New York Senior Vice President Lorie Logan speaks before the Money Marketeers of New York University, in New York. 17 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY CONGO-EBOLA/SURVIVORS (PIX)

Ebola survivors turn caregivers in deadly Congo outbreak Ebola survivors are playing a vital role in the care of patients as a deadly outbreak rages on in eastern Democratic Republic Congo. Thanks to their immunity, they can comfort infected children and provide hands-on assistance to patients without the need to wear stifling, full-body protective gear.

17 Apr 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT RELIGION

RELIGION-ITALY/STAIRS (PIX) (TV) Rome's Holy Stairs, believed to be those climbed by Jesus, uncovered for first time in 300 years

Holy stairs believed to be those climbed by Jesus at his judgement before Pontius Pilate have been uncovered for the first time in 300 years. The marble stairs brought to Rome in A.D. 236 are usually covered in a wooden casing. Pilgrims climb the stairs on their knees. 17 Apr 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

RELIGION-EASTER/SINAI-MANUSCRIPTS (PIX) (TV) Ancient Christian manuscripts in Sinai digitally preserved by modern technology

A team of photographers from Greece is working in St. Catherine’s Monastery at the foot of Egypt's Mount Sinai to digitise thousands of fragile documents. 17 Apr 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT


POST A COMMENT