Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
VisionRI - Urban Development

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT


Reuters
Updated: 16-05-2019 03:28 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT

Senior Democrats and Republicans in the House of Representatives called on Turkey on Wednesday to cancel its planned acquisition of a Russian S-400 missile defense system, the latest effort by U.S. lawmakers to discourage Ankara from pursuing the deal.

SYRIA-SECURITY-DEIR-AL-ZOR/ U.S.-backed forces crack down on Islamic State fighters in Syria's Deir al Zor

(Reuters) - U.S.-backed Kurdish-led forces said on Wednesday they had begun a campaign against “terrorists” linked to Islamic State in a strategic town in the oil rich eastern province of Deir al Zor that residents and witnesses say has been at the center of protests opposing the rule of U.S.-supported militia. U.S.

USA-ABORTION-ALABAMA/ U.S. abortion rights activists vow to challenge landmark Alabama ban

(Reuters) - U.S. abortion-rights activists vowed on Wednesday to challenge an Alabama bill that would ban abortions, even in cases of rape and incest, the latest attempt by conservatives to reverse a 1973 Supreme Court ruling establishing a woman’s right to it. NEW-YORK-CRASH/

Helicopter crashes into Hudson River in New York, injuring two NEW YORK (Reuters) - A helicopter crashed into the Hudson River in New York City on Wednesday shortly after taking off from Manhattan, causing minor injuries to the pilot and a dockworker, police and fire officials said.

BUSINESS USA-CHINA-TRUMP-TELECOMMUNICATIONS/

Trump order clears way for barring Huawei from U.S. telecommunications networks WASHINGTON (Reuters) - President Donald Trump on Wednesday signed an executive order declaring a national emergency and barring U.S. companies from using telecommunications equipment made by firms posing a national security risk, paving the way for a ban on doing business with China’s Huawei Technologies Co.

ETHIOPIA-AIRPLANE-FAA/ FAA expects Boeing to submit 737 MAX fix soon for approval

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Federal Aviation Administration acting chief Dan Elwell told lawmakers on Wednesday he expects Boeing Co to submit a software fix for the grounded 737 MAX involved in two fatal crashes for approval soon, and said he was concerned by the planemaker’s lengthy delay in disclosing a software anomaly. ENTERTAINMENT

FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES-JOHN-CARPENTER/ Cult horror director John Carpenter honored at Cannes

CANNES, France (Reuters) - Cannes paid tribute to cult horror master John Carpenter on Wednesday with an award for “The Thing” director’s contribution to cinema. MUSIC-STONES-JAGGER/

Moves like Jagger: Stones' frontman posts dance video after health scare (Reuters) - Rolling Stones singer Mick Jagger posted a video of his trademark dance moves on Twitter on Wednesday to show the world he is back in shape following heart valve surgery.

SPORTS BASKETBALL-NBA-POR-GSW/

Warriors bury Blazers with treys, win opener OAKLAND, Calif. - The Golden State Warriors are so used to playing in the Western Conference finals, they were in no hurry to do it for a fifth consecutive year Tuesday night.

TENNIS-FRENCHOPEN-SHARAPOVA/ Tennis: Sharapova withdraws from French Open

PARIS (Reuters) - Twice champion Maria Sharapova has withdrawn from the French Open after failing to recover fully from shoulder surgery, the former world number one said on Wednesday. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS FINLAND-COUNCIL OF EUROPE/

Foreign ministers to discuss challenges facing 70-year-old Council of Europe Foreign ministers of the Council of Europe’s 47-member States will hold their annual meeting on 16 and 17 May 2019 in Helsinki, to discuss the future of the organization which is currently facing a number of challenges.

16 May USA-ABORTION/

Republican Alabama governor mulling nation's strictest abortion law Alabama Governor Kay Ivey on Thursday was mulling whether to sign the United States' strictest abortion law, part of a multistate effort to get the U.S. Supreme Court to reconsider women's constitutional right to abortion.

16 May IRAN-POLITICS/USA (PIX)

Hardliners target Iran's president as U.S. pressure grows Growing U.S. pressure on Iran has weakened pragmatic President Hassan Rouhani and made his hardline rivals more assertive at home and abroad, recent developments show.

16 May 05:00 ET, 09:00 GMT CANADA-TRUDEAU/

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau gives news conference in Paris Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau holds news conference in Paris.

16 May 14:30 ET, 18:30 GMT TURKEY-LATVIA/ (PIX)

Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cuvusoglu to visit Latvia Foreign Minister of Turkey Mevlut Cuvusoglu visits Latvia and meets with the Latvian government officials. They are to discuss bilateral cooperation between the two countries, questions of security policy and cooperation with NATO, relations between the European Union and Turkey, and other topics.

16 May 13:15 ET, 17:15 GMT EU-ELECTION/DISINFORMATION (PIX) (TV)

Who burned Notre Dame? Brussels goes after fake news as EU election nears The European Union has launched a coordinated fight against fake news ahead of this month's European Parliament elections, but officials acknowledge there are limits to what can be achieved against a danger barely recognized a few years ago.

16 May 05:00 ET, 09:00 GMT BRITAIN-EU/MAY

British PM May meets with chairman of her Conservative Party's 1922 Committee British Prime Minister Theresa May is due to meet with Graham Brady, the chairman of her Conservative Party's influential 1922 Committee, who have called on her to set out a clear timetable for her departure.

16 May USA-ELECTION/FRAUD (PIX)

Ex-Fugees Rapper Pras to Appear in Court in Case Over 2012 campaign funds "Pras" Michel, a former rapper for the Fugees, will appear in court on Thursday for a status hearing in preparation for a trial, after he and Malaysian businessman Jho Low were charged with funneling illegal foreign donations into former Democratic President Barack Obama's 2012 re-election campaign.

16 May 14:00 ET, 18:00 GMT GERMANY-POLITICS/ (PIX) (TV)

Defeat for SPD in northern bastion may threaten Merkel coalition Germany's weakened Social Democrats (SPD) look likely to lose the state of Bremen after seven decades next week in an election that could set the clock ticking on their strained national coalition with Chancellor Angela Merkel.

16 May 13:00 ET, 17:00 GMT CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

SYRIA-SECURITY/NORTHWEST-DISPLACED Battles in northwest Syria uproot thousands

Reuters journalists report on the conditions facing Syrians who have fled recent fighting in the northwest. 16 May

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE TENNESSEE-EXECUTION/

Tennessee to execute Donnie Johnson, convicted of killing wife Tennessee is scheduled to execute Donnie Johnson who was convicted of killing his wife.

16 May USA-CRIME/CULT

Accused sex cult guru Keith Raniere faces trial in New York Accused sex cult guru Keith Raniere faces trial in New York on charges including engaging in sex trafficking and child exploitation as the leader of a secretive organization called Nxivm.

16 May 10:00 ET, 14:00 GMT BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

AUSTRALIA-ECONOMY/EMPLOYMENTAustralia employment report for April ABS data on employment, after a solid March report, April is forecast to show a modest rise of 14,000, with the jobless rate ticking up to 5.1%. The report will be closely watched in market given the RBA has signaled that any weakness in the formerly resilient labour market could lead to a cut in interest rates.

16 May 01:30 ET, 05:30 GMT CANADA-CENBANK/ (PIX)

Bank of Canada governor to speak on financial system review Bank of Canada Governor Stephen Poloz and deputy governor Carolyn Wilkins will take media question after the release of the central bank's review of the Canadian financial system.

16 May 15:15 ET, 19:15 GMT BAMBOOAIRWAYS-STRATEGY/ (PIX) (TV)

FOCUS-Birdies on a plane: Vietnam's Bamboo airways banks on golf resorts for success As Vietnam's aviation sector booms and passenger numbers rise at double-digit rates, local upstart Bamboo Airways is teeing up what it hopes will be a novel way of standing out in a crowded market: Golf.

16 May 00:00 ET FRANCE-TECH/ (PIX) (TV)

France's biggest yearly tech conference Viva Tech takes place in Paris VivaTech, which showcases startups and leaders from the world of technology and innovation, runs in Paris on 16–18 May 2019.

16 May EUROZONE-BUDGET/ (PIX) (TV)

Euro zone finance ministers meet Finance ministers of the countries sharing the euro and other European Union countries meet in Brussels to discuss financing of the euro zone's budget.

16 May 13:00 ET, 17:00 GMT AUSTRALIA-ECONOMY/RBA

RBA Assistant Gov Bullock speaks in Sydney Speech by Michele Bullock, RBA Assistant Governor (Financial System) ASIC Annual Forum.

16 May 02:45 ET, 06:45 GMT KAZAKHSTAN-IMF/

IMF's Christine Lagarde visits Kazakhstan International Monetary Fund Managing Director Christine Lagarde visits Kazakhstan. 16 May

LUCKINCOFFEE-IPO/ Starbucks' China rival Luckin prices U.S. IPO

Luckin Coffee Inc, the Chinese challenger to Starbucks, is due to price its U.S. initial public offering. 16 May

LLOYDS-AGM/ Lloyds Banking Group Annual General Meeting

Britain's biggest domestic bank Lloyds holds its annual general meeting in Edinburgh and could be the latest business to face a shareholder revolt over executive pay, after senior MPs questioned pension perks afforded to CEO Antonio Horta-Osorio. 16 May 11:00 ET, 15:00 GMT

WALMART-RESULTS/ Walmart's first-quarter results

Walmart will post its first quarter earnings on Thursday. Investors will watch out for guidance on the economy and consumer demand as threat from China tariffs and resultant price increases looms large. They will also look for comments on online investments, e-commerce profitability and minimum wage issues. 16 May 12:30 ET, 16:30 GMT

NORWAY-CHINA/ (PIX) With energy high on agenda, China's no.3 leader visits Norway

With energy projects high on the agenda, China and Norway will mark a further thaw in relations on Wednesday when Beijing's third-ranked politician arrives in Oslo. 16 May

USA-FED/QUARLES (PIX) Federal Reserve Vice Chair Quarles testifies before House Financial Services Committee

Federal Reserve Vice Chair for Supervision Randal Quarles testifies on "Supervision and Regulation" before the House Financial Services Committee, in Washington. 16 May 14:00 ET, 18:00 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY HEALTH-CANCER/RESISTANCE

Scientists in new push to control cancer before curing it Scientists in Britain in new push to control cancer before curing it. 16 May 23:01 ET

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/BACURAU (PIX) (TV)

Brazilian film 'Bacurau' presented at Cannes "Bacurau" directors Kleber Mendonca Filho and Juliano Dornelles and cast, including Udo Kier and Sonia Braga, attend a Cannes news conference.

16 May MUSIC-EUROVISION/FANS (PIX) (TV)

Eurovision fans gear up for second semi-final kickoff Eurovision fans gear up for second semi-final kickoff.

16 May FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/ATLANTICS PREMIERE (PIX) (TV)

Migrant ocean crossing movie "Atlantics" screens in Cannes "Atlantics", a Cannes competition entry about Senegalese construction workers deciding to cross the ocean for a better future and directed by female filmmaker Mati Diop, receives its premiere at the film festival.

16 May 14:00 ET, 18:00 GMT SPORTS

GOLF-PGACHAMP/ (PIX) (TV) Golf - PGA Championship first round

First round coverage of the major championship from the Bethpage Black course in New York. 16 May 10:45 ET, 14:45 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT