Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
VisionRI - Urban Development

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 0600 GMT/0200 ET


Reuters
Updated: 17-05-2019 11:32 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 0600 GMT/0200 ET

British Prime Minister Theresa May will set out a timetable for her departure in early June after the latest attempt to get her Brexit deal approved by parliament, the chairman of a powerful Conservative committee said on Thursday.

TAIWAN-LGBT Taiwan parliament weighs landmark same-sex measures ahead of vote

TAIPEI (Reuters) - Taiwan’s parliament on Friday discussed measures to legalize same-sex marriage ahead of a landmark vote that could make the self-ruled island the first in Asia to adopt such legislation, despite deep divisions over marriage equality. U.S.

USA-TRUMP-FLYNN Flynn detailed attempts to obstruct Russia probe: U.S. court filing

Former U.S. national security adviser Michael Flynn gave Special Counsel Robert Mueller information about attempts by people tied to the Trump administration and Congress to obstruct the Russia investigation, court documents released on Thursday showed. USA-ABORTION-ALABAMA-BOYCOTT

Alabama boycott builds as states retaliate against abortion law A movement to boycott Alabama over its near-ban on abortion gained momentum Thursday as officials in Maryland and Colorado called for economic retaliation and online flyers urged people not to buy anything in, or from Alabama.

BUSINESS USA-TRADE-CHINA-MEDIA

China evokes patriotism, past wars as trade conflict with U.S. heats up BEIJING (Reuters) - The trade war with the United States will only make China stronger and will never bring the country to its knees, the ruling Communist Party’s People’s Daily wrote in a front-page commentary that evoked the patriotic spirit of past wars.

NISSAN-GHOSN-DIRECTORS Nissan's Saikawa to stay on as president, Renault chief to join board: sources

TOKYO (Reuters) - Nissan Motor Co will keep Hiroto Saikawa on as president, two sources said on Friday, even as alliance partner Renault SA had been pushing for a change in the Japanese automaker’s leadership. ENTERTAINMENT

TELEVISION-GAME-OF-THRONES Dismayed or grieving, 'Game of Thrones' fans prepare for the final episode

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Passions are running high as “Game of Thrones” nears its final episode this weekend, with hundreds of thousands of unhappy fans signing an online petition and a counseling service offering to help those grieving the end of the TV fantasy saga. TELEVISION-BIG-BANG-THEORY

Comedy 'Big Bang Theory' makes sentimental farewell LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Sheldon and Amy won their Nobel Prize and the elevator was finally fixed in a sentimental finale on Thursday to television comedy series “The Big Bang Theory” that left fans in tears of delight.

SPORTS BASKETBALL-NBA-POR-GSW

Warriors survive Blazers to take 2-0 series lead OAKLAND, Calif. - Outgunned by the underdog Portland Trail Blazers for 47 minutes and without their two most productive big men, the Golden State Warriors employed an unusual strategy when things got desperate Thursday night.

TENNIS-TENNIS-ROME-RECAP Federer fights off match points to advance in Rome

Third-seeded Roger Federer saved two match points in a third-set tiebreaker against Croatia’s Borna Coric to advance to the quarterfinals of the Internazionali BNL d’Italia in Rome on Thursday. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS USA-ELECTION/BIDEN

Former Vice President Biden shows strength early, but pitfalls loom in 2020 race Former Vice President Joe Biden has shown surprising strength in the first three weeks of his campaign for the Democratic presidential nomination, prompting a persistent question: Can anyone stop him?

17 May 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

SYRIA-SECURITY/UN U.N. Security Council briefed on situation in northwest Syria

U.N. Security Council publicly briefed on situation in northwest Syria, at request of Kuwait, Germany and Belgium. 17 May 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS LUCKINCOFFEE-IPO/ (PIX)

Starbucks' China rival Luckin debuts on Nasdaq Friday will mark Luckin Coffee's IPO debut.

17 May 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT EU-ECOFIN/

EU finance ministers meet European Union finance ministers meet in Brussels

17 May 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT EU-TAX/BLACKLIST

EU finance ministers to update blacklist of tax havens European Union finance ministers are expected to update the bloc's blacklist of tax havens.

17 May 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT STONEMOR PRTNRS-DEBT/

Direct lenders vie to resurrect cemetery company StoneMor U.S. cemetery operator StoneMor Partners L.P.'s rising debt load has put it at death's door, but specialized lending funds are looking to make more loans to the company, according to sources familiar with talks.

17 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/5B (PIX) (TV) HIV/AIDS epidemic documentary '5B' premieres in Cannes

"5B" a documentary on the HIV/AIDS epidemic, screens Out of Competition at the Cannes Film Festival. 17 May 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

MUSIC-EUROVISION/FANS (PIX) (TV) Eurovision fans gearing up in Eurovision Village and across city for the Grand Finale

17 May 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/PAIN AND GLORY PREMIERE (PIX) (TV)

Penelope Cruz and Antonio Banderas walk Cannes red carpet Spanish stars Penelope Cruz and Antonio Banderas join director Pedro Almodovar on the Cannes Film Festival red carpet for the premiere of their competition entry 'Pain and Glory'.

17 May 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/TOO OLD TO DIE YOUNG (TV)

Amazon TV show screens Out of Competition in Cannes Nicholas Winding Refn's "Too Old To Die Young - North of Hollywood, West of Hell", screens Out of Competition at the Cannes Film Festival.

17 May 17:30 ET / 21:30 GMT FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/LITTLE JOE PREMIERE (PIX) (TV)

Jessica Hausner premieres Cannes competition film 'Little Joe' Director Jessica Hausner and the cast of "Little Joe" walk the red carpet for the official screening of the Cannes competition film.

17 May 10:30 ET / 14:30 GMT SPORTS

GOLF-PGACHAMP/ (PIX) (TV) Golf - PGA Championship second round

Second round coverage of the major championship at Bethpage Black in New York. 17 May 06:45 ET / 10:45 GMT

ODDLY ENOUGH BOSNIA-BEAR/ (PIX) (TV)

Orphaned baby bear finds shelter in Bosnian village A two-month-old orphaned baby bear has been rescued by villagers in central Bosnia after escaping from the woods in search for shelter and food, and will now find a permanent home in the Sarajevo Zoo.

17 May 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT