Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 0600 GMT/0100 ET


Reuters
Updated: 16-01-2019 11:34 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 0600 GMT/0100 ET

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6 a.m. GMT/1 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

BRITAIN-EU

Brexit bedlam: May's EU divorce deal crushed by 230 votes in parliament

British lawmakers defeated Prime Minister Theresa May’s Brexit divorce deal by a crushing margin on Tuesday, triggering political chaos that could lead to a disorderly exit from the EU or even to a reversal of the 2016 decision to leave.

USA-MEXICO-EL-CHAPO

'El Chapo' paid ex-Mexican president $100 million bribe: trial witness

Accused Mexican drug lord Joaquin “El Chapo” Guzman once paid a $100 million bribe to former Mexican President Enrique Pena Nieto, an ex-Guzman associate testified on Tuesday that he previously told U.S. authorities.

U.S.

USA-CENSUS-DECISION

Judge rejects citizenship question for 2020 U.S. census

A federal judge on Tuesday invalidated the Trump administration’s addition of a U.S. citizenship question to the 2020 census, the first ruling in a handful of lawsuits that claim the query will hurt immigrants.

USA-EDUCATION-LOS-ANGELES

Los Angeles teachers strike for second day as mayor seeks to restart talks

Some 30,000 Los Angeles teachers on strike for higher pay, smaller classes and more staff walked picket lines in the rain for a second day on Tuesday as Mayor Eric Garcetti embraced their cause while trying to nudge the two sides back to the bargaining table.

BUSINESS

SEARS-BANKRUPTCY-AUCTION

Sears chairman's takeover proposal faces moment of truth

Negotiations between Sears Holdings Corp Chairman Eddie Lampert and the bankrupt U.S. department store operator approached a resolution late on Tuesday as the billionaire hedge fund manager faced the choice of improving his $5 billion offer for the company or ending his takeover plans, people familiar with the matter told Reuters.

USA-TRADE-CHINA-EXCLUSIONS

USTR promises exclusion process for higher tariffs if China talks fail

U.S. Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer has assured lawmakers that companies will be able to request exclusions on tariffs on $200 billion worth of goods under discussion with Beijing if talks do not yield a deal by the March 2 deadline.

ENTERTAINMENT

NETFLIX-PRICES

Netflix raises prices for U.S. subscribers

Netflix Inc is raising monthly fees for its U.S. subscribers by between 13 percent and 18 percent, the video streaming pioneer's first price increase since 2017 as it spends heavily on original content and international expansion.

PEOPLE-RIHANNA

Rihanna sues dad to keep hands off her Fenty trademark

Rihanna has sued her father for trading on her Fenty brand name and suggesting that a business venture he set up in 2017 is associated with her.

SPORTS

TENNIS-AUSOPEN-BARTY

Australia's Barty shines brightly as compatriots stumble

Australia’s top-ranked player Ashleigh Barty beat Wang Yafan 6-2 6-3 in a straight-forward affair on Wednesday, propelling the home country’s leading prospect into the third round.

FOOTBALL-NFL-SUPERBOWL-AIRPORT

Atlanta airport says ready for Super Bowl crush despite shutdown

Atlanta airport will be ready to field the tens of thousands of additional visitors expected for next month’s Super Bowl despite the ongoing U.S. government shutdown, which has left critical airport personnel unpaid, a spokesperson said Tuesday.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

BRITAIN-EU/CONFIDENCE (PIX) (TV)

British parliament holds no confidence vote in PM May's government

Opposition Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn has called a vote of no confidence in UK PM May's government.

16 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

TURKEY-CROATIA/

Turkey's Tayyip Erdogan and Croatian president hold talks, news conference

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan holds talks with Croatian President Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic (1300 GMT). They will hold a signing ceremony and joint news conference (1515 GMT).

16 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

EUROPE-MIGRANTS/CALAIS-BRITAIN (PIX) (TV)

Iranian migrants plot illegal crossing to Britain from northern French port

Multi-media story from northern French port of Calais where France has bolstered surveillance of ports and beaches after a spike in clandestine migrant crossings to Britain.

16 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

RUSSIA-LAVROV/ (PIX) (TV)

Russia's Lavrov holds media conference

Russia's Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov holds annual media conference.

16 Jan 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

USA-EPA/WHEELER (PIX)

Democrats to grill Trump's new EPA pick over past lobbying

Democratic lawmakers will grill President Donald Trump's new pick to run the Environmental Protection Agency, Andrew Wheeler, about his past as a coal industry lobbyist during his confirmation hearing Wednesday, but have little hope of blocking him in the Republican-controlled Senate.

16 Jan 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

USA-NUCLEAR/

US arms control official gives news conference at NATO

Andrea L. Thompson, Under Secretary for Arms Control and International Security, talks to reporters after addressing the North Atlantic Council, on Russia violations of the landmark INF treaty.

16 Jan 10:30 ET / 15:30 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/EUROPEANPARLIAMENT (PIX) (TV)

EU Parliament to hold Brexit debate

European Union lawmakers will hold a debate on Brexit at their plenary sitting in Strasbourg the day after the British Parliament is expected to vote on the Brexit withdrawal agreement.

16 Jan 02:30 ET / 07:30 GMT

USA-TRUMP/BARR (PIX) (TV)

U.S. Senate panel holds confirmation hearing for attorney general nominee

U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee conducts confirmation hearings for attorney general nominee William Barr, who is under fire from Democrats for his criticism of special counsel's Russia probe.

16 Jan 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

USA-HOUSE/WATERS

U.S. House Financial Services Committee chair outlines agenda

U.S. Rep. Maxine Waters (D-Calif.), new chair of House Financial Services Committee, discusses panel’s direction and priorities, as well as impact of partial government shutdown on financial markets and families.

16 Jan 11:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

VENEZUELA-MIGRATION/FAMILIES (PIX) (TV)

Venezuela migration wave leaves millions of children behind

The mass exodus of millions of Venezuelans escaping the country's economic crisis has created a growing population of children without parents who are left in the care of grandparents or neighbors, fueling behavior problems, low performance in school and psychological trauma, according to families and experts.

16 Jan 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SPAIN-POLITICS/ANDALUSIA

Andalusian assembly elects Spain's opposition with support of far right

The Andalusian assembly will vote to invest a conservative/centre-right coalition government with the support of the extreme right party Vox, marking the first time the Socialist Party has not held the parliament in almost four decades.

Andalusian Government to vote in Juan Manuel Moreno Bonilla (People´s Party) as new regional leader

16 Jan 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

WARCRIMES-IVORYCOAST/ (PIX) (TV)

Hearing for ex-Ivorian leader Gbagbo acquitted of war crimes on Tuesday

The International Criminal Court holds hearing regarding former Ivorian leader Laurent Gbagbo, who could be released on the same day. The tribunal acquitted Gbagbo of all war crimes charges on Tuesday.

16 Jan 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

USA-FED/BEIGEBOOK

Federal Reserve issues the Beige Book

Federal Reserve issues the Beige Book of economic condition, in Washington.

16 Jan 14:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

USA-SHUTDOWN/TRAVEL

Washington's quiet tourism season goes silent during shutdown

In the nation's capital, where more than 20 million tourists typically visit each year, the longest government shutdown in U.S. history has threatened businesses that depend on the patronage of government workers and the attraction of federal monuments and museums to bring in tourists.

16 Jan 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/CARNEY (TV)

Bank of England's Carney speaks in parliament, hours after Brexit vote

Bank of England Governor Mark Carney speaks to lawmakers in parliament's Treasury Committee, a few hours after a key vote in parliament on Prime Minister Theresa May's Brexit plans. Carney and other top BoE officials are due to field questions about the BoE’s Brexit-focused Financial Stability Review, which was published in December.

16 Jan 04:15 ET / 09:15 GMT

GOLDMAN SACHS-RESULTS/ (PIX)

Goldman Sachs reports fourth quarter earnings

Goldman Sachs, the investment banking powerhouse and fifth-largest U.S. bank, is expected to report fourth quarter revenues fell on Wednesday compared to the third quarter, as lower investment banking fees and trading revenues weighed on performance. The company is expected to provide an update on the ongoing investigations it faces into its involvement with the Malaysia 1MDB fund scandal.

16 Jan 07:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

BANK OF AMERICA-RESULTS/ (PIX)

Bank of America reports fourth-quarter earnings

Bank of America Corp. reports fourth-quarter earnings. Investors will be looking for an update on the bank's strategic plan. After the bank reached prior cost cutting and efficiency targets, stakeholders want management to articulate new goals.

16 Jan 06:45 ET / 11:45 GMT

AUTOSHOW-DETROIT/FORD-OUTLOOK (PIX)

Ford offers outlook at auto conference

Ford will offer outlook on auto market at the Deutsche Bank auto conference being held in Detroit in conjunction with the Detroit auto show.

16 Jan 07:15 ET / 12:15 GMT

GM-JOBS/WASHINGTONDC

FOCUS - GM's Washington charm offensive sidelined by Wall Street's push for profit

General Motors code named its November announcement to cut nearly 15,000 jobs in North America and restructure itself "Turbo," suggesting a leaner approach for the largest U.S. automaker would "accelerate its transformation."

16 Jan 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

BLACKROCK-RESULTS/ (PIX)

Q4 2018 BlackRock Inc Earnings Release

BlackRock is scheduled to report earnings for the first time after a bruising year that saw their stock plummet more than 20 percent as weak markets hurt demand for investment funds.

16 Jan 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

(PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

FRANCE - BTF non-competitive bids

16 Jan 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT


POST A COMMENT