Development News Edition
Give Feedback

3 IRS officers appointed as members in CBDT

Devdiscourse News Desk delhi Last Updated at 09-11-2018 19:25:04 IST India

Three IRS officers have been appointed as new members in the CBDT, the policy-making body for the Income Tax (I-T) Department.

The officers P K Dash, Akhilesh Ranjan and Neena Kumar, are from the 1982-batch of the Indian Revenue Service (IRS) and have taken charge of their posts in the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT).

While Dash was till now serving as the principal chief commissioner of I-T (PCCIT) in Bhopal, Ranjan and Kumar have been serving as the PCCsIT in Delhi.

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC), headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, had issued the order for their appointment on November 6.

With the new joinings, the CBDT is now a full house after a long time. The board has a strength of five members and a chairman.

The two other members of the CBDT are IRS officers Aditya Vikram and P C Mody while the board's Chairman is Sushil Chandra.

The CBDT frames a policy for the I-T Department that is tasked to enforce direct tax laws in the country. It functions under the Union finance ministry.

(With inputs from agencies.)

add banner