International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. ET


Reuters
Updated: 14-08-2019 03:30 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. ET

Police and protesters clashed at Hong Kong's international airport on Tuesday after flights were disrupted for a second day as the political crisis in the former British colony deepened.

MIDEAST-IRAN/TANKER Iran says Britain might release oil tanker soon, Gibraltar says not yet

DUBAI/LONDON (Reuters) - The British territory of Gibraltar will not yet release an Iranian oil tanker seized by Royal Marines in the Mediterranean despite an Iranian report that it could do so on Tuesday, an official Gibraltar source said. U.S.

PEOPLE-JEFFREY EPSTEIN/ Warden at New York jail where financier Epstein died is removed

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - U.S. Attorney General William Barr ordered the removal of the warden at the federal jail where financier Jeffrey Epstein was found dead in an apparent suicide while awaiting trial on sex trafficking charges, the Justice Department said on Tuesday, after condemning “serious irregularities” at the facility. USA-ABUSE/LAWSUITS

Victims of child sex abuse expected to launch wave of lawsuits in New York NEW YORK (Reuters) - More than a thousand people are expected to file civil lawsuits in New York courts beginning on Wednesday over sexual abuse they say they suffered as children during a special one-year window for state suits over decades-old allegations.

BUSINESS VIACOM-M&A/CBS

CBS, Viacom reach deal to reunite Sumner Redstone's media empire CBS Corp and Viacom Inc have reached a deal to reunite media mogul Sumner Redstone’s U.S. entertainment empire, betting that a larger company will be able to compete and partner better in a media industry dominated by giants.

GOOGLE-ANTITRUST/ Exclusive: Google's jobs search draws antitrust complaints from rivals

BRUSSELS/SAN FRANCISCO (Reuters) - Google’s fast-growing tool for searching job listings has been a boon for employers and job boards starving for candidates, but several rival job-finding services contend anti-competitive behavior has fueled its rise and cost them users and profits. ENTERTAINMENT

MUSIC-WOODSTOCK/DOCUMENTARY How 'Woodstock' movie shaped festival's place in counterculture

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Michael Wadleigh never played a note and is not a household name, but he may be the person most responsible for securing Woodstock’s place in history as the epitome of Sixties counterculture. PEOPLE-PLACIDO DOMINGO/

LA Opera to investigate sexual misconduct accusations against Placido Domingo LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - The Los Angeles Opera said on Tuesday it will investigate accusations of sexual misconduct against Spanish tenor Placido Domingo, as two organizations canceled planned appearances by him.

SPORTS TENNIS-USOPEN/

Teenager Gauff, former champ Stosur get U.S. Open wildcards American teenager Cori “Coco” Gauff and former champion Samantha Stosur were among players to be given wildcards into the main draw of the U.S. Open starting later this month, organizers said on Tuesday.

PARALYMPICS-2020/ Tokyo paralympics marathon to start earlier due to heat fears

TOKYO (Reuters) - The marathon race at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics will start 30 minutes earlier than originally scheduled, as part of the organizers’ efforts to tackle the heat threat to athletes and fans in the Japanese capital. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS HONGKONG-PROTESTS/USA-SENATOR

U.S. senator warns China on Hong Kong trade status if it cracks down on protests Prominent U.S. senator warns China that Hong Kong could lose special trade status it has enjoyed under U.S. law if it intervenes directly to crack down on pro-demcracy protests in territory.

13 Aug 18:30 ET / 22:30 GMT INDIA-KASHMIR/ (PIX)

Security clampdown in Kashmir continues after New Delhi revoked the region’s special status Indian authorities need more time to restore order in Kashmir, a Supreme Court justice said on Tuesday as a security clampdown entered a ninth day since New Delhi revoked the region’s special status, triggering protests.

14 Aug 23:30 ET / 03:30 GMT ITALY-BRIDGE/ (PIX) (TV)

Italy honors victims of bridge disaster amid political crisis Hundreds of people will honor the victims of the collapse of a motorway bridge that killed 43 people in the Italian city of Genoa in the first anniversary of the disaster

14 Aug 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT SURAMERICANA-COLOMBIA/

Colombia insurance giant Grupo SURA expected to release second quarter resultsColombian insurance conglomerate Grupo SURA is expected to release its second quarter results on Wednesday. 14 Aug

INDIA-KASHMIR/PAKISTAN Pakistani Prime Minister expected to address Azad Kashmir parliament on Independence Day

Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan is expected to address the Azad Kashmir parliament on Independence Day to express solidarity with the disputed territory with India. His visit to Muzaffarabad, Pakistan-administered Kashmir is subject to weather conditions. 14 Aug

CLIMATE-CHANGE/GRETA-BOAT (PIX) (TV) Climate activist Thunberg crosses the Atlantic in a racing boat

Climate activist Greta Thunberg leaves the UK to crosses the Atlantic in a racing boat this week. Her trip from Plymouth in the UK to New York should take around two weeks. The exact departure date is expected to be Wednesday 14 August. 14 Aug

DISASTERS / ACCIDENTS MALAYSIA-IRELAND/GIRL (TV)

Monitoring development after Malaysian police say certain they found body of missing Irish girl Malaysian police on Tuesday said they were certain they had found the body of an Irish teenager who went missing from a jungle resort in the Southeast Asian country 10 days ago, though it was not clear how she got separated from the family.

14 Aug CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

USA-ABUSE/LAWSUITS New York courts brace for hundreds of lawsuits by victims of child sex abuse

Hundreds of people who were sexually abused as children are expected to begin filing suits against their alleged attackers on Wednesday, when a state law that temporarily lifts the statute of limitations on decades-old allegations takes effect. New York courts have assigned 45 judges to handle the expected deluge. 14 Aug

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS TENCENT-RESULTS/

Tencent Holdings Q2 and 1H results Chinese internet giant Tencent Holdings will announce its 2019 Second Quarter and Interim Results after market close. Management will host a briefing call at 8pm HKT.

14 Aug 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT CAE-RESULTS/ (PIX)

Canada's CAE expected to report higher quarterly revenues Canadian simulator-maker and training specialist CAE,, is expected to report higher quarterly revenues, helped by stronger demand for its civil aviation segment.

14 Aug 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT AUSTRALIA-ECONOMY/WAGES

Australia-Wage inflation Australia quarterly wage data for Q2 is forecast to show another tepid rise of 0.5%, leaving annual growth stuck at 2.3% .and too low to drive a much-needed increase in inflation.

14 Aug 21:30 ET / 01:30 GMT MACY'S-RESULTS/ (PIX)

Macy's Inc Reports Second Quarter Results The department store operator is expected to post a drop in quarterly profit as it spent heavily to build up its online business and grow its off-price business. All eyes will however be on the company's comments on the latest round of tariffs. Being the first of the department store chains to report, investors and analysts will keep an eye out for the spending appetite of consumer.

14 Aug 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT INVESTMENT-FUNDS/

Big U.S. hedge funds report Q2 stock holdings Some of the biggest, highest-profile U.S. hedge fund investors and money managers including Bill Ackman's Pershing Square Capital Management and Warren Buffett's Berkshire Hathaway release their stock holdings for the second quarter via 13F SEC filings.

14 Aug CHINA-ECONOMY/ACTIVITY

China (Mainland)-Activity indicators China releases host of indicators including industrial output, retail sales, property investment and private sector investment that will provide the latest gauge on the health of the world's second-biggest economy. Growth has been hit hard by a bruising trade war with the United States, and pressure has mounted in recent months for Beijing to deliver more stimulus.

14 Aug 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

USA-SWEDEN/RAPPER (PIX) (TV) Verdict in A$AP Rocky trial

Stockholm district court hands down the verdict in the A$AP Rocky assault trial. The U.S. rapper and two of his entourage were released from custody after a three-day trial for assault. He had been detained following a brawl in downtown Stockholm on June 30. Senior district court judge Per Lennerbrant is expected to hold a news conference after the verdict.

14 Aug 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT PEOPLE-JEFFREY EPSTEIN/LAWSUITS (PIX)

Women expected to sue Jeffrey Epstein's estate over sexual abuse claims Lawyers for women who say they were sexually abused by Jeffrey Epstein are expected to sue the disgraced financier's estate as soon as Wednesday, when a New York law goes into effect that makes it easier for people to sue over sexual abuse.

14 Aug 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT MUSIC-WOODSTOCK/

FACTBOX - Who performed, how many attended, what happened Who performed. How many attended. Famous quotes, scenes. 14 Aug

MUSIC-WOODSTOCK/MEMORIES (PIX) (TV) Remembering Woodstock - peace, music, LSD and naked men

Interviews with variety of people reminiscing about attending Woodstock in 1969, including musician Graham Nash, a volunteer horseback police man, a young woman who saw her first naked man, a guy who got his first taste of LSD, and a member of Sha Na Na 13 Aug 21:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

RELIGION SAUDI-HAJ/ (PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

Muslim worshipers perform annual haj pilgrimage in Mecca Muslims from around the world gather in Mecca to conduct the haj pilgrimage, the world's largest annual Muslim gathering, which has been prone to disasters in the past.

14 Aug (PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

FRANCE - BTF non-competitive bids 14 Aug 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)