SKM Leads in Sikkim Assembly Elections: Early Trends Show Dominance

The Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) leads in four out of 32 assembly seats, according to initial postal ballot counts. Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang and other SKM candidates have established leads over their rivals. Counting began at 6 am across six districts, with final results awaited from EVM counts.

PTI | Gangtok | Updated: 02-06-2024 07:40 IST | Created: 02-06-2024 07:40 IST
SKM Leads in Sikkim Assembly Elections: Early Trends Show Dominance
  • Country:
  • India

The ruling Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) has taken an early lead in four of the 32 assembly seats, based on initial trends from postal ballot counting in Sikkim, officials reported on Sunday.

In the Rhenock assembly constituency, Chief Minister and SKM candidate Prem Singh Tamang has a significant lead of 1,423 votes over his closest rival from the SDF, Som Nath Poudyal. State minister Sonam Lama, also an SKM nominee, is leading by 98 votes over BJP's Tseten Tashi Bhutia in Sangha.

SKM's Puran Kumar Gurung is ahead by 667 votes against SDF's Mani Kumar Gurung in Chujachen, and Delay Namgyal Barfungpa of SKM is leading with 1,053 votes over BJP's Pema Aanchal Rinzing in Gangtok. The counting process for all 32 assembly seats began at 6 am amid tight security across six districts, covering both postal ballots and EVM votes.

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Give Feedback