International Development News
Development News Edition

Stage set for 4th round of national motorcycle racing meet

Stage set for 4th round of national motorcycle racing meet

Interesting battles are in store in the fourth and penultimate round of the MRF MMSC-FMSCI National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2019 at the MMRT at nearby Sriperumbudur over the weekend. The country's top two-wheeler racers and manufacturers Honda, TVS, Yamaha and KTM will return to action as the race for top honours intensifies.

The Pro-Stock categories comprising the premium 301-400cc class besides 201-300cc and the 165cc, all run on MRF slick tyres, have witnessed thrilling battles through the season. Going into the fourth round, Chennai-based TVS Racing pair of Deepak Ravikumar (101 points) and KY Ahamed (98), both with two wins apiece from six starts, head the 301-400cc class where defending champion Satyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing) is placed sixth with 51 points with just one win.

In the 201-300cc class, Bengaluru-based Anish Shetty (Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing) is comfortably placed with 90 points following a hat-trick of victories, well ahead of team-mate and fellow-Bengalurean Abhishek Vasudev (63). The popular Pro-Stock 165cc class has seen long-time rivals Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing and TVS Racing, locked in a fierce fight.

Honda's international rider Rajiv Sethu of Chennai, after missing the first round due to his commitments in Japan, won four races in a row to lead the championship with 100 points, ahead of seven-times National champion Jagan Kumar of TVS Racing (94) who in turn enjoys a one-point lead over Honda's Sarath Kumar. Both Jagan and Sarath have won one race apiece.

The Novice class (Stock 165cc), with its 40-bike grid and packed with talent, has Chennai's I Venkatesan (Moto Maniacz Racing) in the lead with 98 points with Abhimanyu Gautam (Sparks Racing, 80) from Jind, Haryana, and Bengaluru's Annish Samson (Speed Up Racing, 70) in tow. Ryhana Bee (Sparks Racing), having won two consecutive races, is closing in on Girls title with a tally of 68 points, while defending champion and team-mate Ann Jennifer (40) is third behind private entrant Nivetha Jessica (42).

The active involvement of two-wheeler manufacturers in the championship has cast the net wider and snared a clutch of fresh talent. The championship received a massive boost with Honda introducing FIM Moto3-spec NSF 250R bikes, the fastest in the championship and ridden by hungry-for-success teenagers, all part of the Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup programme designed to unearth and nurture talent..

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)



'No escape from telephones', this 1953 prediction actually comes true

In 1953, a telephone company chief predicted that therell be no escape from telephones in the future....

With Ayodhya verdict, CJI starts clearing high profile pending cases

Ending all the speculations, the Chief Justice of India Mr. Ranjan Gogoi who is due to retire on November 17 decided to deliver the verdict in Ayodya dispute at 10.30 am on Saturday which is not a working day for the Supreme Court. This is ...

How partnerships and collaborations could enhance teacher training

Monica Malhotra Kandhari, Managing Director, MBD Group shares her views on public private partnership and collaborations in education sector. She supports her propositions with her organisations success stories....

Fixed Test centers would facelift level of WTC in India

The venues for the test matches in India should be fixed so that World Test Championship matches remain fair....


Latest News

Google checking account service on its way: report

Google plans to launch a checking account service next year in a collaboration with Citigroup and a credit union in Silicon Valley, the Wall Street Journal reported on Wednesday. In a project code-named Cache, Google is working on a system ...

Final six teams unveiled for inaugural ATP Cup

A Grigor Dimitrov-led Bulgaria was among the final six teams announced Thursday for the ATP Cup in Australia -- the new world tennis team event. Chile, Poland, Uruguay, Moldova and Norway were the other countries to make the grade, based on...

Cong leaders remember Nehru on his birth anniversary

Congress President Sonia Gandhi, former President Pranab Mukherjee and former PM Manmohan Singh on Thursday paid homage to Indias first prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru on his birth anniversary. A large number of MPs, senior Congress le...

Australia bushfires renew anger over climate change

Unprecedented bushfires in eastern Australia have turbocharged demands the countrys conservative government do more to tackle climate change and have rekindled an ideological fight over the science behind the blazes. The huge fires have tou...

Give Feedback