Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/1 a.m. ET


Reuters
Updated: 14-02-2019 11:31 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/1 a.m. ET

It’s been the better part of a year since U.S. President Donald Trump and North Korean leader Kim Jong Un stood face to face for the first time at their unprecedented summit in Singapore.

PHILIPPINES-MEDIA/ Philippine journalist released on bail after arrest causes outcry

MANILA (Reuters) - The head of a Philippine news website that has locked horns with President Rodrigo Duterte was freed on bail on Thursday, a day after her widely condemned arrest on libel charges that critics say is a government effort to bully journalists. U.S.

USA-MILITARY-SENATE/ Senators vow urgent reform to correct 'unacceptable' military housing conditions

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - U.S. Senators scolded real estate executives and Pentagon leadership over “unacceptable” conditions in privatized military housing on Wednesday, vowing urgent reform to protect service families from widespread health and safety hazards in base homes. FLORIDA-SHOOTING-ANNIVERSARY/

Florida governor calls for grand jury over Parkland school shooting TAMPA, Fla. (Reuters) - Florida Governor Ron DeSantis on Wednesday called for a state grand jury to investigate the 2018 school massacre in Parkland in which 17 people died, pledging accountability for any local failures that led to the deadliest U.S. high school shooting.

BUSINESS USA-TRADE-CHINA-MNUCHIN/

U.S.-China trade talks move to higher level as deadline looms BEIJING (Reuters) - U.S. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin said he was looking forward to trade talks with China on Thursday, as discussions in Beijing moved to a higher level in a push to de-escalate a tariff war ahead of a March 1 deadline for a deal.

AIRBUS-A380/ Airbus to scrap production of A380 superjumbo

TOULOUSE, France (Reuters) - Europe’s Airbus announced plans to scrap production of the A380 superjumbo on Thursday, abandoning its dream of dominating the skies with a cruiseliner for the 21st century after years of lacklustre sales. ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-JUSSIE-SMOLLETT/ 'Empire' actor Jussie Smollett angry that some doubt he was attacked

Actor Jussie Smollett said he was angry that some people doubted his statement that he was attacked outside his Chicago apartment in January. PEOPLE-RYAN-ADAMS/

Singer Ryan Adams calls accusations in New York Times 'inaccurate' LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Rock singer Ryan Adams on Wednesday called a New York Times article about him “upsettingly inaccurate” but said he was “not a perfect man” and apologized to anyone he had hurt.

SPORTS TENNIS-NEWYORK/

Isner defeats Tomic to advance to New York Open quarters John Isner made quick work of Australia’s Bernard Tomic to advance to the quarter-finals of the New York Open on Wednesday with a 7-6(7) 6-4 victory.

GOLF-GENESIS-WOODS/ Golf: Woods honored as Genesis Open granted 'elevated status'

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - The Tiger Woods-hosted Genesis Open was granted “elevated status” on the PGA Tour on Wednesday, promising a bright future for the tournament to go with its rich history. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS SPAIN-POLITICS/CATALONIA (PIX) (TV)

Former Catalan vice president questioned on charges of rebellion Former Catalan vice president Oriol Junqueras, charged with rebellion and misuse of public funds in connection with Catalonia's 2017 independence bid, testifies in Madrid's Supreme Court.

14 Feb 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT USA-ELECTION/MONEY

Democrats want big money out of 2020 White House race, but how far will they go? Democratic U.S. presidential contenders are expected to push one another to show their commitment to getting big money out of politics. But some strategists worry that the candidates could go too far and hamper the party's chances in the November 2020 general election by giving a financial edge to the Republicans.

14 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT SAFRICA-POLITICS/RAMAPHOSA

South African president responds to debate on state of nation South African president Cyril Ramaphosa responds to parliamentary debate on his state of the nation address, with Eskom restructuring likely to be high on agenda.

14 Feb 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT NORWAY-EU/SNOWCRAB (PIX)

Norway Supreme Court to deliver verdict in snow crab case with implication for oil Norway's Supreme Court to deliver verdict in case on whether EU ships can fish for snow crab off Arctic islands north of Norway without permission from Oslo, a case that could decide who has the right to explore for oil in the region.

14 Feb 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT BRITAIN-EU/IRELAND

Irish foreign minister discusses Brexit legislation at parliamentary committee 14 Feb 11:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE MIDEAST-CRISIS/SUMMIT-STATEMENTS (PIX) (TV)

U.S's Pence and Polish PM give statements at Warsaw meeting U.S. Vice President Mike Pence and Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki give statements during a working lunch at a global summit co-hosted by the U.S. focused on the Middle East and Iran.

14 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT MIDEAST-CRISIS/SUMMIT-OPENING (PIX) (TV)

Plenary sessions opens at Warsaw meeting Opening plenary session gets underway at a global summit co-hosted by the U.S. focused on the Middle East and Iran.

14 Feb 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT MIDEAST-CRISIS/SUMMIT-PHOTO (PIX) (TV)

Delegates pose for photo at Warsaw meeting Delegates pose for a family photo at a global meeting co-hosted by the U.S. focused on the Middle East and Iran.

14 Feb 05:30 ET / 10:30 GMT MIDEAST-CRISIS/SUMMIT-NEWSCONFERENCE (PIX) (TV)

U.S.'s Pompeo and Polish FM hold news conference at Warsaw meeting U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo and Polish Foreign Minister Jacek Czaputowicz hold a news conference at a global summit co-hosted by the U.s. focused on the Middle East and Iran.

14 Feb 10:30 ET / 15:30 GMT MIDEAST-CRISIS/SUMMIT-ARRIVALS (PIX) (TV)

Delegates arrive at Warsaw meeting Delegates arrive at a global summit in Warsaw co-hosted by the U.S..and focused on the Middle East and Iran

14 Feb 02:00 ET / 07:00 GMT CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

PORTUGAL-RIGHTS/COURT Disability charity takes 'court to court' over accessibility breaches

A disability charity is taking judicial action against the Ministry of Justice after it found that a court in Leiria, a city in Portugal's central region, does not to meet accessibility laws. 14 Feb 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

CHICAGO-POLICE/ (PIX) After ex-policeman's murder sentence, divisions in Chicago persist

After white former Chicago police officer Jason Van Dyke was sentenced last month for the 2014 killing of black teen Laquan McDonald, top local officials urged the third-largest U.S. city to pull together to close a painful chapter in its history. 14 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS NVIDIA-RESULTS/ (PIX)

Nvidia reports fourth-quarter results The chipmaker has already announced half a billion dollars cut in its fourth-quarter revenue estimate, citing weak demand for its gaming chips in China and lower-than-expected data center sales.

14 Feb 16:00 ET / 21:00 GMT CBS-RESULTS/ (PIX)

CBS posts fourth quarter earnings Media company CBS is expected to post a rise in its fourth quarter revenue, boosted by strong advertising sales and higher digital subscriptions.

14 Feb 16:00 ET / 21:00 GMT COLUMN-MILLER/SOCIALSECURITY (PIX)

Questions, worries swirl around U.S. Social Security Social Security is one of those topics that spark a lot of questions. The system has some complexities, but people are curious for a simple reason: Social Security is our universal retirement program. Nearly all of us pay into it and have a stake in its future. And right now, we all have reasons to be concerned.

14 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT EU-CHINA/INVESTMENTS

EU lawmakers vote on foreign investment screening, with eyes on China EU lawmakers vote on a far-reaching system to coordinate scrutiny of foreign investments into Europe, notably from China

14 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT USA-FED/HARKER

Philadelphia Federal Reserve Bank President Harker speaks on "approaches to leadership" Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia President Patrick Harker speaks on "Approaches to Leadership" before the Third Annual Lerner MBA Student Association Conference, in Newark, Del.

14 Feb 11:00 ET / 16:00 GMT USA-CNBC/BRAINARD

Federal Reserve Board Governor Lael Brainard appears on CNBC Federal Reserve Gov. Lael Brainard will be on CNBC.

14 Feb 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT USA-FED/POWELL (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

In rural Mississippi, still waiting on recovery Here’s what has happened in Leflore County, Mississippi, the 23rd poorest county in the country, since the end of the recession in 2009. The number of jobs fell 4 percent and nearly 8 percent of the businesses disappeared. Average annual pay at private firms stalled. The median age spiked as working age adults voted with their feet and left.

14 Feb 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT WALMART-LABOR/OUTSOURCE (PIX)

FOCUS - Why Walmart farms out same-day grocery deliveries to low-cost freelance drivers An inside look at how Walmart is relying on so-called "gig" workers to deliver groceries to help it compete with Amazon. These workers come at a lower cost for Walmart than full-time employees. But they can lack loyalty when there are better paying deliveries out there, jeopardizing Walmart's latest attempt to win more online customers.

14 Feb 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT USA-TRADE/CHINA-MINISTRY (TV)

China's Commerce Ministry holds news conference China's Commerce Ministry holds a regular news conference as a new round of trade talks with the United States is underway in Beijing.

14 Feb 02:00 ET / 07:00 GMT USA-SHUTDOWN/

Wary of shutdown, Trump inches toward support for funding deal U.S. President Donald Trump edges toward backing deal in Congress on government funding that would not meet his demand for $5.7 billion for wall on Mexican border but would avert partial government shutdown.

14 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT TANZANIA-DAM/

Tanzania hands over site for construction of hydroelectric plant to be build in a UNESCO heritage site In December, Tanzania said it will build a $3 billion hydroelectric plant in a UNESCO world heritage site under a contract announced on involving Egyptian companies El Sewedy and Arab Contractors despite concerns raised about the impact on wildlife.

14 Feb 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT IRELAND-BONDS/

Ireland looks to raise up to 1.25 billion euros in bond auction Ireland to raise between 1 billion and 1.25 billion euros in dual bond auction

14 Feb 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT INDIA-ECONOMY/INFLATION (PIX)

India releases January WPI inflation data India will release WPI inflation data for January on Thursday, Feb 14 around 12.00 noon (India local time)

14 Feb 01:30 ET / 06:30 GMT PETRA DIAMONDS-CULLINAN/ (PIX)

Famed Cullinan mine banks on big diamonds to drive down debt The owner of the world-famous Cullinan diamond mine, Petra Diamonds, could be about a decade away from clearing its multi-million-dollar debts, in a sign of the struggles facing an industry assailed by synthetic rivals and uncertain demand.

14 Feb 01:30 ET / 06:30 GMT ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

FILMFESTIVAL-BERLIN/SO LONG MY SON (PIX) (TV) Chinese film "So Long, My Son" premieres at Berlinale

"So Long, My Son", by Chinese director Wang Xiaoshuai, screens in competition at the 69th Berlin Film Festival. 14 Feb 06:15 ET / 11:15 GMT

ODDLY ENOUGH VALENTINES-DAY/CROATIA-BROKENHEARTS (PIX) (TV)

Sick of Valentine's? Museum adds woes of war to litany of lost love Fed up of red roses, choking on chocolates? Then drop the Valentine's Day delirium for a dose of reality at Zagreb's Museum of Broken Relationships - expanded this year with relationships rent apart by war, and all set to tour in Brexit-riven Britain.

14 Feb 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT


POST A COMMENT