Seven Former Chief Ministers Join Modi in New Council

Seven former chief ministers, including Narendra Modi, have been sworn into the new council of ministers. The other members include Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Rajnath Singh, Manohar Lal Khattar, Sarbananda Sonowal, H D Kumaraswamy, and Jitan Ram Manjhi. Five are from the BJP, while Kumaraswamy and Manjhi represent JD(S) and Hindustani Awam Morcha, respectively.

PTI | New Delhi | Updated: 09-06-2024 20:26 IST | Created: 09-06-2024 20:26 IST
Seven Former Chief Ministers Join Modi in New Council
Narendra Modi
  • Country:
  • India

In a momentous political development, seven former chief ministers, among them Narendra Modi, have taken oaths as part of the newly sworn-in council of ministers. This inaugural event took place on Sunday.

Included in this cohort are Shivraj Singh Chouhan of Madhya Pradesh, Rajnath Singh of Uttar Pradesh, Manohar Lal Khattar of Haryana, Sarbananda Sonowal of Assam, H D Kumaraswamy of Karnataka, and Jitan Ram Manjhi of Bihar.

It is noteworthy that while five of these former state leaders belong to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Kumaraswamy and Manjhi represent the BJP's allies, JD(S) and Hindustani Awam Morcha. Prime Minister Modi and his council took the oath, marking the initiation of a new coalition government, subsequent to two complete terms of BJP dominance.

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Give Feedback