BRS Loses Another MLA: Sanjay Kumar Joins Congress

The Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) faced a setback as Jagtial MLA Sanjay Kumar joined the ruling Congress in Telangana. Chief Minister A Revanth Reddy welcomed Kumar into the party. Kumar is the fifth BRS MLA to switch sides to Congress, following senior MLA Pocharam Srinivas Reddy and others.

PTI | Hyderabad | Updated: 24-06-2024 08:34 IST | Created: 24-06-2024 08:34 IST
BRS Loses Another MLA: Sanjay Kumar Joins Congress
Sanjay Kumar
  • Country:
  • India

The Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) experienced a notable setback in Telangana as its Jagtial MLA, Sanjay Kumar, defected to the ruling Congress party.

Chief Minister A Revanth Reddy, who also leads the Telangana unit of Congress, formally welcomed Kumar into the party, according to reliable sources from the party late Sunday.

Kumar's move marks him as the fifth BRS MLA to join Congress, following the recent defection of senior BRS MLA and former Assembly Speaker Pocharam Srinivas Reddy on June 21, and earlier defections by BRS MLAs Kadiam Srihari, Danam Nagender, and Tellam Venkat Rao, as well as other notable BRS leaders such as Hyderabad Mayor Vijaya Laxmi R Gadwal.

Speculations are rife that more BRS lawmakers may follow suit in the near future. Sanjay Kumar holds a medical degree and is serving his second term in the Legislative Assembly.

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Give Feedback