International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback

TDP legislative council member resigns from post, party

Updated: 10-07-2019 20:49 IST
TDP legislative council member resigns from post, party

In a jolt to the Telugu Desam party, its Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council member Annam Satish Prabhakar resigned from his post and also quit the TDP. Prabhakar unsuccessfully contested the recent Assembly election from Bapatla constituency.

Prabhakar was elected from the Guntur Local Authorities constituency and his tenure is till June 2021. In a letter to TDP president Chandrababu Naidu, he attributed his resignation to the loss in Assembly election.

"I deemed it not fit to sit in the Council when I lost the Assembly election," he said. Prabhakar met the Legislature Secretary in the evening and submitted his resignation.

Talking to reporters, he targeted Chandrababu Naidu's son Nara Lokesh for the TDP's rout in the recent general election. "Most of the party leaders are seriously unhappy with Lokesh," he claimed.

He demanded that Lokesh resign from his Council seat as he too lost the Assembly election. With Prabhakar's resignation, the TDP's strength in the 58-member Council falls to 28..

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)